"Million Dollar" Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. It is an awesome salad for either every day or to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've added chunk cooked chicken breasts, Pinneapple and sometimes mandarin oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made this salad many times and it is a family favorite. I cut oil down to 1/3 cup and use a 1/3 cup of Balsalmic vinegar. I add chopped garlic, decrease sugar to 1/4 cup and add 5-6 packets of splenda. This salad can also be made with Romaine lettuce and cranberries instead of cabbage for a little holiday flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. Family loved it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Only missing a star b/c my kids didn't like it. :-) For an "adult" salad, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We are diabetic and looking for new and different recipes that can be tailored to our diet concerns. I thought that I would try this one. It was great. I did have to make substations of course. Splenda for the sugar and I did not use the raman noodles. I did up the nuts a bit. Hubby loved it and I may add more green onion. Hubby wanted to try some chopped water chestnuts. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I emulsified the dressing so that it wouldn't separate overnight as I knew I'd be using the leftover dressing. Otherwise I followed the directions as written, only I keep the crunchy bits as a topping at the last minute instead of mixing in as we can't eat the whole salad in one sitting. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My whole family loves it! Here are my modifications: I cut the sugar in 1/2. My kids are not fans of onion so I omit them or put them on the side. For a bit more flavor I like a bit of chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and shredded carrot(2T) which makes this salad even more vibrant looking. A tip I'd like to share is to add about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil. This gives a wonderful flavor. The dressing will emulsify and not seperate once it's cold so chill it and whisk again before pouring on. I like to pour the dressing about 15 minutes before eating or the ramen is too crunchy for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
A nice change from 'regular' coleslaw. My family enjoyed this recipe, but it makes a lot. Will have to cut the recipe in half next time. Might also add some more protein to it, and eat it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good salad, a little sweet for my taste though. I will definitely try it again, but will modify the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States