"Million Dollar" Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. It is an awesome salad for either every day or to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've added chunk cooked chicken breasts, Pinneapple and sometimes mandarin oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made this salad many times and it is a family favorite. I cut oil down to 1/3 cup and use a 1/3 cup of Balsalmic vinegar. I add chopped garlic, decrease sugar to 1/4 cup and add 5-6 packets of splenda. This salad can also be made with Romaine lettuce and cranberries instead of cabbage for a little holiday flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. Family loved it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Only missing a star b/c my kids didn't like it. :-) For an "adult" salad, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We are diabetic and looking for new and different recipes that can be tailored to our diet concerns. I thought that I would try this one. It was great. I did have to make substations of course. Splenda for the sugar and I did not use the raman noodles. I did up the nuts a bit. Hubby loved it and I may add more green onion. Hubby wanted to try some chopped water chestnuts. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I emulsified the dressing so that it wouldn't separate overnight as I knew I'd be using the leftover dressing. Otherwise I followed the directions as written, only I keep the crunchy bits as a topping at the last minute instead of mixing in as we can't eat the whole salad in one sitting. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My whole family loves it! Here are my modifications: I cut the sugar in 1/2. My kids are not fans of onion so I omit them or put them on the side. For a bit more flavor I like a bit of chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and shredded carrot(2T) which makes this salad even more vibrant looking. A tip I'd like to share is to add about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil. This gives a wonderful flavor. The dressing will emulsify and not seperate once it's cold so chill it and whisk again before pouring on. I like to pour the dressing about 15 minutes before eating or the ramen is too crunchy for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
A nice change from 'regular' coleslaw. My family enjoyed this recipe, but it makes a lot. Will have to cut the recipe in half next time. Might also add some more protein to it, and eat it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good salad, a little sweet for my taste though. I will definitely try it again, but will modify the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States