"Million Dollar" Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My family including my 6 year old loved this salad. I replaced onions with crisp iced lettuce, reduced sugar dramatically and used instant cup o' noodles ( which I didn't need to roast as it was very crisp). I loved the Splenda suggestion in some of the reviews will try that next time I make this salad. The best things that I liked about this salad: 1) takes very little time to make 2)is different than usual salads therefore a good change 3) good interplay of crisp and crunchy texture 4) can be a complete main course for weight watchers 5) love the appearance with vibrant colours- extremely appetising 6) a good salad when you're calling people home for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good salad, a little sweet for my taste though. I will definitely try it again, but will modify the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
A nice change from 'regular' coleslaw. My family enjoyed this recipe, but it makes a lot. Will have to cut the recipe in half next time. Might also add some more protein to it, and eat it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My whole family loves it! Here are my modifications: I cut the sugar in 1/2. My kids are not fans of onion so I omit them or put them on the side. For a bit more flavor I like a bit of chopped fresh flat leaf parsley and shredded carrot(2T) which makes this salad even more vibrant looking. A tip I'd like to share is to add about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil. This gives a wonderful flavor. The dressing will emulsify and not seperate once it's cold so chill it and whisk again before pouring on. I like to pour the dressing about 15 minutes before eating or the ramen is too crunchy for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I emulsified the dressing so that it wouldn't separate overnight as I knew I'd be using the leftover dressing. Otherwise I followed the directions as written, only I keep the crunchy bits as a topping at the last minute instead of mixing in as we can't eat the whole salad in one sitting. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We are diabetic and looking for new and different recipes that can be tailored to our diet concerns. I thought that I would try this one. It was great. I did have to make substations of course. Splenda for the sugar and I did not use the raman noodles. I did up the nuts a bit. Hubby loved it and I may add more green onion. Hubby wanted to try some chopped water chestnuts. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Only missing a star b/c my kids didn't like it. :-) For an "adult" salad, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great recipe. Family loved it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made this salad many times and it is a family favorite. I cut oil down to 1/3 cup and use a 1/3 cup of Balsalmic vinegar. I add chopped garlic, decrease sugar to 1/4 cup and add 5-6 packets of splenda. This salad can also be made with Romaine lettuce and cranberries instead of cabbage for a little holiday flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've added chunk cooked chicken breasts, Pinneapple and sometimes mandarin oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States