Million Dollar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent and easily the richest roasted chicken dish I have ever had. What makes this dish is the bread that sits under the roasting chicken. I could eat that alone, but I think I would die from acute gout :) I had no fresh thyme, so I subbed a tablespoon of dry thyme. I could not find Aleppo peppers at my market so I just skipped that entirely. Other than that, made this to a "T" and it was a hit. I put cut up red potatoes around the bird at the start and brushed them with the excess olive oil. Served it along with a wonderful Chardonnay and stuffed eggplant..... YUM!!!!! Thanks for making us feel like millionaires for a night Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I'm glad Mauigirl posted that she could not find nor did she use the Aleppo pepper. A substitute could have been used but was not. It is good to know that a simple teaspoon of the pepper did not make or break this terrific looking and sounding chicken. I do not know what an Aleppo pepper is or where to find it. I too will be leaving it out. I am sure dried Thyme was not an issue either. Sometimes we just have to go with what we know and have on hand. Thank you Mauigirl for your post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
OMGosh, this is truly the best roasted chicken I have ever had! I too left out the Aleppo pepper and used dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Aleppo pepper dark red pepper similar to paprika! •Deliciously deep, aromatic flavor with versatile use. •Delicious on grilled meat-- chicken, steak, and chops. •Perfect in chilli, meat loaf, and sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have not tried this recipe but plan on doing so and plan on cooking it exactly as directed; then I will rate it. How Mauigirl can you rate something that you did not even cook per the ingredients and instructions.........sheeeeeeesh, people please don't rate something you haven't even tried and substituted ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Marilyn
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
i found the bread got wayyyy tooo black, I watched the video and Chef John said it would be dark coloured but my bread was much more charred and I had to trim of the burnt part.I am trying to think of what a person could do to prevent it getting this black. I did use thinker pieces of bread which at least allowed me to trim. I mixed 1 t. of sweet paprika (or smoked paprika) with 1/4 t. of cayenne in place of the Aleppo pepper. I also needed to roast it an additional 15 mins. It was good but not quite the "great I expected." By the way, luv Chef John and his humour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Just curious. Why the bread at the bottom? Any reason behind it?? Because as you say in your video, it got burned. But all the cream that got soaked in it, made it amazing. Why not just toast it and add it in the final 20 mins when the cream is added. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Smitty - use french or Italian bread, for goodness sake - you won't make it because of a small thing your hubbie doesn't like? He wouldn't even be able to tell because of the yummy juices it absorbs!! I used chicken breasts,some grilled red peppers from a jar, made my own creme fraiche from this site. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
No creme fraiche around here, so I used Mexican creme. The chicken was perfectly roasted and tasty, but I'm not convinced the basting added that much flavor. I must have sliced the bread too thin (1/2 inch?) and it was way too burned to eat comfortably. I would advise an inch thick slice. Doubt I will try this again. Very hard to improve on a simple roast chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this again for Thanksgiving today and it came out great as usual! This chicken in full of flavor! I have made this with a whole chicken and it's delicious, but since I was cooking for just one, this time I decided to give it a try with boneless chicken breast. To get that nice browning on the skin, I seared it off quickly on both sides first in the pan and then transferred it to a baking dish to roast in the oven. I placed all of the other ingredients on top/below chicken for aromatics- with the bread below. Unfortunately, I still haven't mastered the bread technique and mine came out too burnt for me to consume. I basted the chicken with the creme fraiche/aleppo pepper mixture twice during the roasting process and this process still worked in keeping the chicken breast moist. I've never used aleppo pepper before this recipe and it does add a really nice spice to the chicken. After it was done, I topped it off with some roasted gravy and it turned out to work very well with my Thanksgiving sides. I will continue to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States