Million Dollar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I too, couldn't find Aleppo pepper, so had to leave it out. Used dried thyme as well, as couldn't find fresh. I used my homemade creme fraiche too. This chicken was fabulous!!! And the bread was OMG YUMMY!! I can't wait to find fresh thyme & the pepper, and make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Marilyn
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
i found the bread got wayyyy tooo black, I watched the video and Chef John said it would be dark coloured but my bread was much more charred and I had to trim of the burnt part.I am trying to think of what a person could do to prevent it getting this black. I did use thinker pieces of bread which at least allowed me to trim. I mixed 1 t. of sweet paprika (or smoked paprika) with 1/4 t. of cayenne in place of the Aleppo pepper. I also needed to roast it an additional 15 mins. It was good but not quite the "great I expected." By the way, luv Chef John and his humour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Anyone else think temp is WAY too high in recipe??? I hope I can update this but I will try a lower temp. I won't terrorize folks with the picture of my burnt on top raw on bottom chicken - LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The chicken tasted good, but the sauce and bread were too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just made this and it is excellent! I did not have the Aleppo pepper, but the internet said it's between an Ancho pepper and paprika, so I put in a few red pepper flakes and some cumin and the tsp of paprika. Hubby likes his food spicy which is why I added the few red pepper flakes, it had the perfect spice for him. I had the thinner cut bread so I used two pieces one on the other instead of one thicker piece and this worked just fine. My hubby works at a labor intensive job so this worked for him, but I had to limit myself to the meat, otherwise it would not be good for my pants, but whew! This is tasty. Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved the chicken and would cook it this way again, however did not like the bread . You could taste the olive oil. So next time I will stuff the chicken with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Smitty - use french or Italian bread, for goodness sake - you won't make it because of a small thing your hubbie doesn't like? He wouldn't even be able to tell because of the yummy juices it absorbs!! I used chicken breasts,some grilled red peppers from a jar, made my own creme fraiche from this site. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
No creme fraiche around here, so I used Mexican creme. The chicken was perfectly roasted and tasty, but I'm not convinced the basting added that much flavor. I must have sliced the bread too thin (1/2 inch?) and it was way too burned to eat comfortably. I would advise an inch thick slice. Doubt I will try this again. Very hard to improve on a simple roast chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Aleppo pepper is a Turkish crushed chili has an ancho-like flavor with a little more heat and tartness. It's not so easy to find but definitely worth it to go out of your way. I order mine from penzy's spices online. I am definitely trying this recipe, it sounds divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by longshotloni
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Just curious. Why the bread at the bottom? Any reason behind it?? Because as you say in your video, it got burned. But all the cream that got soaked in it, made it amazing. Why not just toast it and add it in the final 20 mins when the cream is added. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States