Million Dollar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this again for Thanksgiving today and it came out great as usual! This chicken in full of flavor! I have made this with a whole chicken and it's delicious, but since I was cooking for just one, this time I decided to give it a try with boneless chicken breast. To get that nice browning on the skin, I seared it off quickly on both sides first in the pan and then transferred it to a baking dish to roast in the oven. I placed all of the other ingredients on top/below chicken for aromatics- with the bread below. Unfortunately, I still haven't mastered the bread technique and mine came out too burnt for me to consume. I basted the chicken with the creme fraiche/aleppo pepper mixture twice during the roasting process and this process still worked in keeping the chicken breast moist. I've never used aleppo pepper before this recipe and it does add a really nice spice to the chicken. After it was done, I topped it off with some roasted gravy and it turned out to work very well with my Thanksgiving sides. I will continue to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wow! Made this chicken for dinner tonight, and got rave reviews. Absolutely wonderful recipe. Went all over the place to find aleppo pepper without success, so had to sub with a teaspoon of Just Cook's ancho chicken rub. Other than that followed recipe to a T. The chicken was so moist and flavorful, the bread was awesome! The flavor profiles of this dish were unlike any other roasted chicken I have eaten. Absolutely loved every single bite! Thank you chef John for another winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Vitorelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I was really disappointed. The bread wasn't good, the chicken was only OK. I had been looking forward to trying this recipe for a long time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Clare
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
cabbage soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this mostly as directed, with the only exception using smoked paprika and red pepper flakes (1/2 tsp each) for the aleppo. I also thought the blackish bread wouldn't be good, but it was amazing. Chicken was super moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe immediately because I loved the video and it was very easy. I made exactly the way Chef John did, but because I didn't have the Aleppo pepper, I used his substitute for it. By the way, I did order the special Turkish pepper from Amazon and it is amazing! This chicken dish is one of the best I've ever had, in fact, my son said it was his now all time favorite. You can't stop eating it, it's so delicious! I sent the video to everyone I knew because it was so good. I doubled the creme fraiche recipe because I wanted to make sure I had enough sauce for all the chicken. It truly is one of my favorite chicken dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Found it very tasty but not mind blowing... I think next time I would add some sage and perhaps even rosemary to the Creme to give it a bit more dimension. The bread was tasty underneath and the stuffed chicken turned out spot on... Really a good dish, but I just expected a bit more wow from the tangy Creme fraishe sauce.... But found it rather one-note. Gonna season it up a notch next time and see what I can do to bring it up one note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Was fairly good, but made one hell've mess of the over. Would not make it again be cause of the cleanup time for the over. I mean a MAJOR mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG. Yum. So I made this chicken for Christmas dinner and it was crisp and moist. I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I marinated overnight and cooked at a lower temp 375 and finished on 450 to crisp up the skin. The bread did not burn it is crispy and flavor full like the chicken. The bread is just like having the perfect amount of stuffing, but only better. I gave each guest a little piece of bread with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The temp is too high. Be careful lifting the chicken to turn the bread (which will be burnt to a crisp after one hour at 425) as the juices in the cavity splatter all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States