Million Dollar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
cabbage soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this mostly as directed, with the only exception using smoked paprika and red pepper flakes (1/2 tsp each) for the aleppo. I also thought the blackish bread wouldn't be good, but it was amazing. Chicken was super moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe immediately because I loved the video and it was very easy. I made exactly the way Chef John did, but because I didn't have the Aleppo pepper, I used his substitute for it. By the way, I did order the special Turkish pepper from Amazon and it is amazing! This chicken dish is one of the best I've ever had, in fact, my son said it was his now all time favorite. You can't stop eating it, it's so delicious! I sent the video to everyone I knew because it was so good. I doubled the creme fraiche recipe because I wanted to make sure I had enough sauce for all the chicken. It truly is one of my favorite chicken dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Found it very tasty but not mind blowing... I think next time I would add some sage and perhaps even rosemary to the Creme to give it a bit more dimension. The bread was tasty underneath and the stuffed chicken turned out spot on... Really a good dish, but I just expected a bit more wow from the tangy Creme fraishe sauce.... But found it rather one-note. Gonna season it up a notch next time and see what I can do to bring it up one note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Was fairly good, but made one hell've mess of the over. Would not make it again be cause of the cleanup time for the over. I mean a MAJOR mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG. Yum. So I made this chicken for Christmas dinner and it was crisp and moist. I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I marinated overnight and cooked at a lower temp 375 and finished on 450 to crisp up the skin. The bread did not burn it is crispy and flavor full like the chicken. The bread is just like having the perfect amount of stuffing, but only better. I gave each guest a little piece of bread with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The temp is too high. Be careful lifting the chicken to turn the bread (which will be burnt to a crisp after one hour at 425) as the juices in the cavity splatter all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I too, couldn't find Aleppo pepper, so had to leave it out. Used dried thyme as well, as couldn't find fresh. I used my homemade creme fraiche too. This chicken was fabulous!!! And the bread was OMG YUMMY!! I can't wait to find fresh thyme & the pepper, and make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Marilyn
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
i found the bread got wayyyy tooo black, I watched the video and Chef John said it would be dark coloured but my bread was much more charred and I had to trim of the burnt part.I am trying to think of what a person could do to prevent it getting this black. I did use thinker pieces of bread which at least allowed me to trim. I mixed 1 t. of sweet paprika (or smoked paprika) with 1/4 t. of cayenne in place of the Aleppo pepper. I also needed to roast it an additional 15 mins. It was good but not quite the "great I expected." By the way, luv Chef John and his humour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Anyone else think temp is WAY too high in recipe??? I hope I can update this but I will try a lower temp. I won't terrorize folks with the picture of my burnt on top raw on bottom chicken - LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States