Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Let's face it.. the cake itself is not what we're reviewing here.. it's mainly the cake icing. It's so light, delicious and addicting, and can go well with basically any cake. I recommend chilling the icing for a couple of hours before spreading it so that it will stay on the cake easier. I garnished my cake with grated coconut to complement the pineapple. It was great! I will definitely be making again! (Just to let you know, this recipe makes a TON of icing.. the leftovers make a wonderful fruit dip!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmcelle
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
a refreshing cake indeed! the natural sweetness of the pineapple and mandarins is a great change from normal sugar frostings. i liked the bits of pineapple and mandarin oranges in the frosting. to cut the cake in half horizontally, stick toothpicks halfway up the sides of the cake, then use unflavoured dental floss to wrap around the cake with the toothpicks as a guide, cross the floss and pull the two ends away from each other, the floss will cut the cake cleanly into two layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmcelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Hi, I am so pleased with this recipe, I have made it five or six times. I suggest you drain the juice from both cans of fruit. Then you can add liquid as you need it. I used a boxed butter cake in a bundt cake pan. I mixed together some sugar and cinnamon, poured in half of my already mixed (accordingto package) cake mix, sprinkled the sugar and cinnamon mix over that, then added the rest of the cake mix. Bake according to directions. You will find there will be plenty of icing left over when using the bundt cake pan. I fill up the center of the cake with it. Anything left over, I eat. This is the best cake I've ever had in my life! Thank you, Glenda. Katherine D (katydid) June 12, 2009 I made this cake again for a church picnic. This time I used the Kentuckey Butter Cake found on this site. However, I think I took too much juice from the crushed pineapple. I made the cake the day before and refrigerated it. This always makes it better, but this time the cake was not as moist and good as on previous occasions when I used a box cake. I'm not blaming the cake, though. I think I will take the advise of other reviewers and refrigerate the icing before putting on the cake. I will let you know how that goes. It's still the best cake in the world. I also prefer the four layers rather than the bundt cake pan. Who wants this wonderful icing on a so-so cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This cake is indescribably good. The topping reminds me of ambrosia fruit salad and I could eat it with a spoon! Ambrosia usually has coconut in it and I can imagine coconut would be good on this cake. I used "real vanilla" white cake mix and cheesecake pudding mix instead of plain vanilla. The topping was just a little soupy and I had trouble getting it to stay on the sides of the cake (it was fine on the top and between the layers). I think if I had prepared the frosting through the step where the pudding is mixed in and chilled it till it set up a bit before folding in the whipped topping it would have worked out better. Refrigerate the assembled cake overnight for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I love this cake! I drain the pineapple and mandarin oranges thoroughly and use the juice instead of water in the cake. It gives the cake a bit more flavor. I also chill the frosting before frosting the cake. I also make cupcakes using the same recipe so everyone gets their own individual cake. I'm a baker in my spare time and this is my most requested recipe. It's very light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is delicious. I made a few changes. 1. added grated orange peel to cake mix 2. instead of just water I put in about 1/2 c or orange juice in cake mix 3. I drained some of the liquid from crushed pineapple--this made for a stiffer frosting. This is yummmmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is a wonderful cake recipe. Delicious, without being overly sweet. Also, the cake is visually stunning after it's frosted--tall, fluffy, and with a pretty orange tint. It looks like it was a lot of work but it's a very easy recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Delicious! I served this cake for my daughter's first birthday...everyone loved it! I added a package of vanilla pudding to the cake mix - for a bit denser cake. For the frosting, I drained the oranges, then smushed them with the back of a fork and drained them again. I was worried that the frosting wouldn't be thick enough to stay on the cake, but it did just fine! Will definitely make this cake again - very springy, light and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This cake is AWESOME! I used a French Vanilla cake mix and French vanilla pudding and it turned out great!!! Very light and very Spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a delicious, refreshing recipe that our whole family loved. Easy to make too! Great dessert for a hot summer day. Thank you Glenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States