Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Great cake, will probably make it again. I made this for company and everyone enjoyed it, plus the presentation of this cake alone is great for when you are entertaining. It was a cold winter's night but this cake made it feel a bit summery inside our house - very light and refreshing. Also easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe was fabulous! I did not add the cool whip to the cream cheese mixture until the very end. I used the cream cheese mixture as the filling and reserved about 1/2 or 2/3 cup of the filling and added the cool whip to that for the outside of the cake. There was more "fluffy" stuff to make the outside really pretty and it made the inside really rich and decadent. I also toasted some coconut flakes and sprinkled them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Didn't have the mandarin oranges but was delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
To DIE for!!! To make this an easy fix I made a regular cake, let it cool then put med chunks in bottom of cake pan and a layer of topping then another layer of cake and another layer of topping. Easier than layers, and easier to serve. I also tried it with coconut cream pudding instead of vanilla! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This cake is absolutely heavenly! I hope heaven is as good as this cake! The only aleration I made was instead of using the water called for on the cake box, I used the pineapple juice drained from the can of pineapple. It was wonderful! It was even better on the 2nd and 3rd day. Keeping it in the fridge and waiting a day or so to eat helps all the flavors come out and really meld. Excellent recipe. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This has become my favorite cake recipe. It was so easy to make and definetly a "million dollar cake" and so refreshing especially during hot weather with a glass of icecold icetea! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this cake for our Thanksgiving office party. It was a huge success! I didn't make it in 4 layers though. I use a 10x13 pan and just split the cake into two layers! It was gone in a flash at the party! Several people asked me for the recipe! The only suggestion I would have would be to drain some of the liquid from the pineapple, I found the icing to be a bit runny! I will be making this for Thanksgiving dinner with my family. I'm sure they will gobble it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosedale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Grrreeaattt frosting but better cake when I used a white cake mix and substituted the water(from the cake mix) with orange soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flaquita
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I decided to make this for my boyfriend's birthday since he is not a fan of sweets and this cake hit the spot. He declared it the best cake in the world. I followed the recipe exactly except for the frosting, which I blended in a food processor to smooth out the chunks. Wonderful cake as is and I think I'll play around with it to get different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auctionjunky1953
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is the best cake I ever had. Full of flavor. The only thing different I did was add coconut shavings on top and a few more maderin oranges for decoration. WONDERFULL !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auctionjunky1953

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States