Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Made this tonight for the second time. My son said he wants this cake from now on for his birthday. Like some of the other's I did not add the juice of the pineapple in the icing and it held up much better than when I added it the first time. Tastes just like ambrosia that my mom used to make. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SISTERGLDNHAIR66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This cake was wonderful! I made it for a friend's birthday. It was a HIT!!! I baked in 3- 9 inch pans. I reccommend draining the fruit and reserve it to add to frosting as needed. I also used the juice to brush on the cake layers as I assembled it. Really fabulous. It remind me of ambrosia also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Loved it! The frosting was a little droopy. I would drain the pineapple first, and add the liquid til it gets about right. My layers were all poorly done, and my mom said I should have used dental floss, so I'll do that next time for sure. My daughter had it for her b-day, and didn't want to share. Making another for Easter! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boiling Springs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
As described by one of my husband's employees, who got to taste this cake, this cake is soooooooooo awesome. I made it for my twin's first birthday and it was a success! But I made it for the first time a week before my babies' birthday and everybody was impressed. Even my sister who's not really into sweets kept calling me everyday to see if I had any leftover cake. Instead of using the serving & scaling system I just quadrupled everything, but it was a huge mistake because I ended up with lots of frosting. Even then I did O.K. I used a 12X18 pan (which is huge) and still did four layers. I ended up with 2-16 oz containers of frosting, which I will be using later. Thanks, Glenda for such a delicious cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Thak you, thank you Glenda for the post. I made very few changes, as I think it was nearly perfect on it's own. I used a butter cake mix instead of standard yellow (made with half butter & half applesauce), used fat & sugar free cheesecake pudding mix in the icing, reduced fat cream cheese and drained but reserved juices from the crushed pineapple to add back as needed. I topped it with chopped pecans and would decorate with coconut in the future too. My picky DH said it was "really good" and barely scraped any of the icing off. Guests couldn't get enough! I'll make this OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this into a trifle because it was easier for me to do and my kids could help. I had a pile of navel oranges to use up, so I used them (sweetened with Splenda) instead of mandarin oranges. I drained the pineapple and blended the fruit in the food processor before adding it to the pudding layer. This recipe is delicious any way you style it. Light, citrusy and creamy with every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is delicious. I made a few changes. 1. added grated orange peel to cake mix 2. instead of just water I put in about 1/2 c or orange juice in cake mix 3. I drained some of the liquid from crushed pineapple--this made for a stiffer frosting. This is yummmmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Great cake, will probably make it again. I made this for company and everyone enjoyed it, plus the presentation of this cake alone is great for when you are entertaining. It was a cold winter's night but this cake made it feel a bit summery inside our house - very light and refreshing. Also easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe was fabulous! I did not add the cool whip to the cream cheese mixture until the very end. I used the cream cheese mixture as the filling and reserved about 1/2 or 2/3 cup of the filling and added the cool whip to that for the outside of the cake. There was more "fluffy" stuff to make the outside really pretty and it made the inside really rich and decadent. I also toasted some coconut flakes and sprinkled them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Didn't have the mandarin oranges but was delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States