Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
A crowd favorite every time! This easy and delicious cake is the perfect compliment to any light summertime meal - yet is a favorite for the holidays as well. One variation my "taste-testers" love is a layer of thinly sliced strawberries before adding the filling to each layer - and then strawberries sliced in half to decorate the top of the cake! BEAUTIFUL and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I had huge hopes for this based on the reviews, but it just wasn't that great. Cake mix+pudding mix+cool whip=very processed taste. It was good and we ate it all, but it wasn't a "wow." The fruit combo plus cream cheese was excellent--maybe real whipped cream would make it wow, although it wouldn't keep as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I frequently bring in cakes for my co-workers, and I have never seen one disappear so fast!!! This even got rave reviews from one person who doesn't like cake!!! I followed the recipe, but did drain the pineapple first and kept the juice in a bowl in the event I needed it. The frosting didn't seem to need any more liquid so I did not incorporate it. I also added a box of vanilla pudding to the cake mix, since I do that with all cake mixes anyway. I think next time I'll try it with an orange supreme cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a moist, scrumptious cake! After reading reviews, I drained the pineapple as well as the oranges to keep the icing from being to wet and sliding off the cake. It was perfect! The only complaint I have is that the icing it a bit too sweet (and I like sweet stuff!). Other than that, a unique and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Awsome Cake !!! .... and very easy to make. No changes made, perfect recipe as is...Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Sooo delicious! Easy to make too! It is easier to handle and cut though if you make sure to cool it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Great cake, didn't change a thing. I would suggest however, letting the frosting chill for about an hour or so before trying to frost the cake so that it doesn't run down the sides of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup2746

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe is great nice and light. To cut the amount of sugar in this recipe I didn't put the powder sugar in the icing and added some vanilla there is plenty of sugar in the pineapple juice. We also decided to make our own cool whip with heavy whipping cream in order to avoid buying the over processed cool whip they sell in the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was gone in no time! Everyone said it was the "best" cake I ever made. Already, requests for me to make this cake again have been made. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good recipe but not theee best recipe ever. My husband calls it the $10 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States