Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderfully delicious! A very refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I love this cake! I drain the pineapple and mandarin oranges thoroughly and use the juice instead of water in the cake. It gives the cake a bit more flavor. I also chill the frosting before frosting the cake. I also make cupcakes using the same recipe so everyone gets their own individual cake. I'm a baker in my spare time and this is my most requested recipe. It's very light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I was trying to find a cake that my boyfriend loves that's like the "Millionaire Pie" served at Furr's Cafeteria (a restaurant in the southern U.S. states). It's not quite the same, but the icing is almost right on. I used french vanilla cake mix and instead of adding all the water I added some of the mandarin orange syrup - I'm not sure if that made a difference or not. I slowly added the confectioner's sugar because I didn't want it to be too sweet; I probably used 1 1/4 c instead of 1 1/2c. Also, I heeded other users' advice and didn't add the pineapple juice. This icing is also great as a fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEECGM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Yummy! I really enjoyed this cake and it was easy to make. My husband didn't like the mandarin oranges in the frosting. I, on the other hand, LOVED them in it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
great easy to make cake! looove it - my husband loves it. great cold too - make ahead and take anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Lovely! Made it for hubby's birthday, who said he wanted something light and fruity and not too sweet. After the first bite, he said "this is excatly what I wanted." I didn't at all get the "cake box" taste in this cake. I used a mixture of orange and pinapple juice (from the cans) in cake instead of water, and used the leftover juice to brush the layers. Wonderful cake. Frosting is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this cake exactly except left out the oranges. It was pretty good. The icing wasn't quite as thick as I would have liked it to be. Putting the cake in the fridge helped that though. The icing is great if you are a pineapple fan. I made this as a birtday cake. Two people didn't eat, but everyone else completly finished it. I liked it. I didn't think it was super great, but definately good. It would be great for a summer event. If you like pineapple I'm sure you will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Don't you just hate when someone changes your recipe, but in an effort to cook/bake more lowfat/sugar free this year, here are the changes I made. Baked the yellow cake mix as called for including the butter. (Could have used applesauce instead of butter to really make this low calorie.) For the topping, used lowfat cream cheese, DID NOT add confectioners sugar, added the crushed pineapple with juice, added package lowfat, sugar free vanilla pudding mix and a container of lowfat frozen whipped topping. Baked in a 9 x 13 inch pan. The cake was very good and moist and, surprisingly, my picky husband did not even notice these changes! This cake has lots of wonderful flavors with the oranges and pineapple. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
OH MY! This is one delicious monster! Mine turned out huge! Loved it. It is all about the filling. I didn't even bother trying to frost the sides. Looked pretty, showing off the layers, all 8 of them (4 cake, 4 frosting, by the time the layers were completed)! I did add some coconut into the filling, then sprinkled some on top along with decorating with the mandarin oranges. Fan-tab-monster-lious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great cake. I've made many times to rave reviews. My young son even asks me to make this for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States