Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been making this cake for the last 35 years. We call it a 'Pig Pickin Cake'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've made this cake several times since the 70's. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making this cake for 30 years, but I use orange cake mix. Try it with the orange cake mix . I think you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making a version of this cake for years, however, in mine you do not follow the cake mix directions. You substitute mashed banana for oil, and pineapple juice (reserved from the crushed pineapple) for the water. This really makes the cake! You also add sliced bananas between the layers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I make a similar cake for a long time. You just need to know the basics and play with it. Like using white cake mix and only egg whites for a lower calorie and lighter cake. Or using different pudding mix such as chocolate, lemon or even Pistachio pudding mix. Use sugar free mix for lower calorie version. Instead of pineapples, use fresh fruit chopped very finely such as strawberries or blueberries. Make sure there is enough fruit and fruit juice equaling the 2 cans of pineapples’. Our favorite is White cake with egg white, sugar free cheese cake pudding mix, crushed Pineapple(can) and coconut flakes just for decorating. It’s a very light cake and somehow guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I've been making a similar cake to this for many years. I don't use the cream cheese or powered sugar. For the oil in the cake mix, I use unsweeted applesauce and only eggwhites. This cuts down on the calories and fat content. For the icing, I use pineapples canneed in their on 2 cans of pineapples in their on juice but drain one of the cans and a a large box of sugar-free pudding. I do chill it for several hours. I split the cake layer and only use use the filling between the layers. Allowing the cake to chill over night lets the favors to absorb and makes for a wonderful cake. Many of my diabetic clients can eat this cake. I have never had anyone to complain about the "light" version. PS: I don't normally use the oranges but that's my preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I now have a new favorite cake! OMG this was delicious! Will be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
great for summer!! love this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia à la mode
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My mother has a recipe very similar to this that she has been making for years and I was so excited to find this one! I changed two things: I used pineapple cake mix and added chopped walnuts as part of the topping. I've made this cake several times and every time it is a HIT! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia à la mode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a very delicious, very well-received cake. I made mine into a 9x13 sheet cake, and used the entire amount of the "frosting" spread right over it. I did drain my pineapple and I think if I hadn't it might not have thickened up very nicely, but with it drained it really did thicken up just like pudding. (This recipe, cake plus total frosting, just barely fits into a 9x13 cake dish and allows room to cover with Saran wrap. JUST barely -- the Saran wrap was touching my oranges that I had on top as a garnish.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States