Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took this cake to a fund raiser (cake walk) for our Square Dance Club. It was a hit. I didn't drain the pineapple, as others suggested, thinking maybe the problem with the frosting being too thin was due to over beating the cream cheese. Careful as I was, mine still turned out too thin. I chilled it 2 hours, still too thin, so I added some coconut. It was still thin. At this point I'm thinking that I have to start over with the frosting. After analyzing the situation, I discovered that I had used "cook & serve" pudding mix! Having nothing to loose, I whipped in a small box of "sugar free, fat free" instant pudding mix, let it set for 5 min. Perfect! Amazingly, the additional pudding mix didn't alter the taste. I give the cake 5 stars because the problem with the frosting was my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Delicious.... nearly impossible to eat just one slice. It is light and so easy to enjoy, even after a big meal. I drained the pineapple and mandarins completely as others have suggested. Good advice. Topping was a nice fluffy consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meebs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made this icing to go with the Orange Sunshine Cake on this site. SO DELICIOUS! I'm already envisioning the leftover frosting on pound cake, angel food cake, or just vanilla wafers. So, so, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been making this cake for the last 35 years. We call it a 'Pig Pickin Cake'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've made this cake several times since the 70's. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making this cake for 30 years, but I use orange cake mix. Try it with the orange cake mix . I think you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making a version of this cake for years, however, in mine you do not follow the cake mix directions. You substitute mashed banana for oil, and pineapple juice (reserved from the crushed pineapple) for the water. This really makes the cake! You also add sliced bananas between the layers. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I make a similar cake for a long time. You just need to know the basics and play with it. Like using white cake mix and only egg whites for a lower calorie and lighter cake. Or using different pudding mix such as chocolate, lemon or even Pistachio pudding mix. Use sugar free mix for lower calorie version. Instead of pineapples, use fresh fruit chopped very finely such as strawberries or blueberries. Make sure there is enough fruit and fruit juice equaling the 2 cans of pineapples’. Our favorite is White cake with egg white, sugar free cheese cake pudding mix, crushed Pineapple(can) and coconut flakes just for decorating. It’s a very light cake and somehow guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I've been making a similar cake to this for many years. I don't use the cream cheese or powered sugar. For the oil in the cake mix, I use unsweeted applesauce and only eggwhites. This cuts down on the calories and fat content. For the icing, I use pineapples canneed in their on 2 cans of pineapples in their on juice but drain one of the cans and a a large box of sugar-free pudding. I do chill it for several hours. I split the cake layer and only use use the filling between the layers. Allowing the cake to chill over night lets the favors to absorb and makes for a wonderful cake. Many of my diabetic clients can eat this cake. I have never had anyone to complain about the "light" version. PS: I don't normally use the oranges but that's my preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I now have a new favorite cake! OMG this was delicious! Will be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States