Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The first time I made this I used an orange cake mix and put some orange rind in. I liked it but others thought a white mix would be better. . The second time I used a white cake mix. The icing was a little loose even with draining the fruit so the second time I also added another 4 oz. of cream cheese and a small package of coconut. I made two 9 inch pans and split the layers. I then took a hint from the Coconut Poke Cake on here and poked small holes in each layer as I assembled and poured coconut CREAM over each before icing. Wow! The eight in the dinner party ate most of the cake! Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have mad this in years past. It is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Really good. Made for a potluck, and it was a hit! I used Duncan Hines orange cake mix for the base, as another reviewer suggested, drained the fruits and used the juice instead of water,frosted only the 4 layers and not the sides. Yummy and impressive looking. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Kids decided that they did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
WOW! Wonderful, couldn't even wait for it to be chilled overnight and it was still great! Made according to recipe except that I did drain most of the pineapple juice and used in the cake instead of all water. I made in a 9x13 pan and it all fit except the icing did touch my lid but there is so much icing it won't matter. Plus the icing is so fluffy that it really didn't hurt the look of the cake either. I did end up adding about 3/4 cup of coconut to the icing. Thanks this will be a great cake to make during the hot summer months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good but my icing was runny even after leaving it in refrigerator to set up... Probably will drain pineapple next time... flavor was still delish though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
When I was doing Weight Watchers this was a recipe given to us by our leader. It was delicious, and guilt free. We used fat free pudding, and whipped topping. I also don't recall the use of cream cheese. All in all, it was a nice dessert for those of us watching our caloric intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
it was delicious i made it yesterday for my husband s birthday. i did made some changes i substitute the fresh strawberry for the pineapple i didn't use any juice and i used the 12oz whipped topping and it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revere, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Way too easy to make!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfectly delicious. The frosting was addicting!! LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States