Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great cake. Not too sweet....just right ..makes you feel like its summer when you make it in winter..aahhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I agree that it reminds me of an ambrosia type desert. Therefore, I sprinkle a bit of browned coconut to the outside icing which adds a bit more tropical flavor and makes the cake look finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Castellot Escobedo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moravia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm a rookie baker, it's an Easy recipe!! Friends and Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm a guy and like to cook/try out new recipes. I have made this cake 3 times now, with no changes. It was a big hit the time I took it to a potluck and the comments were,"you made this, really?" As others have suggested, dental floss works great to divide the rounds, along with toothpicks as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The first time I made this I used an orange cake mix and put some orange rind in. I liked it but others thought a white mix would be better. . The second time I used a white cake mix. The icing was a little loose even with draining the fruit so the second time I also added another 4 oz. of cream cheese and a small package of coconut. I made two 9 inch pans and split the layers. I then took a hint from the Coconut Poke Cake on here and poked small holes in each layer as I assembled and poured coconut CREAM over each before icing. Wow! The eight in the dinner party ate most of the cake! Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have mad this in years past. It is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Really good. Made for a potluck, and it was a hit! I used Duncan Hines orange cake mix for the base, as another reviewer suggested, drained the fruits and used the juice instead of water,frosted only the 4 layers and not the sides. Yummy and impressive looking. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Kids decided that they did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
WOW! Wonderful, couldn't even wait for it to be chilled overnight and it was still great! Made according to recipe except that I did drain most of the pineapple juice and used in the cake instead of all water. I made in a 9x13 pan and it all fit except the icing did touch my lid but there is so much icing it won't matter. Plus the icing is so fluffy that it really didn't hurt the look of the cake either. I did end up adding about 3/4 cup of coconut to the icing. Thanks this will be a great cake to make during the hot summer months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States