Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I'm giving it 2 stars because I was told the cake was good, although it didn't all go. I know it got great reviews and maybe it was just my taste, but I really didn't care for the icing. I couldn't get passed the texture of the crushed pineapple and mandarin oranges. I also think I don't like cool whip in my icings. Sorry, but this just wasn't for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I treated this recipe more like a concept....lots of substitutions, and it still worked out wonderfully! I didn't need a big fancy cake, so I baked the cake in two 8x8 pans - one for now, one for the freezer. I used a coconut cake mix, and the 'low fat preparation'. For the 'frosting' I used fatfree cream cheese, the cup and a half of powdered sugar, then sugar free vanilla pudding mix, the crushed pineapple, just one can of drained mandarin oranges, and fat free cool whip. Even though I had reduced the 1 can of mandarin oranges, I still had plenty of topping, and the cake is really tasty, even with all the reduced fat and reduced sugar options I used. Thanks for this really lovely flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
oh holy mama was this good!!!Both families loved it for a lighter xmas cake-perfection for summer picnics cant wait...DEFINATELY A KEEPER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
this is the best! My 13 YO daughter asks for it for every birthday, and we make it 'just because' sometimes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monnik
Home Town: Alleman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Amazing cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
THIS WAS SO AWESOME! I have a saying "if it's not chocolate it's not worth it." This was so good and light, I am all about chocolate and not so much on fruit. This had me hooked i'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Amazing....My whole family loved it....Don't change a thing. My sister was eating the frosting out of the bowl:) Would like to try with other fruit like cherries, or apricot....It was so good I might just leave alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very good cake for a warm summer day. I made this cake the day before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
HUGE compliments on this cake. Changed only slightly. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar and found that was plenty. I used the juice from the pineapple, but not the oranges. I also found that the mixer was enough to break up the oranges, when I used high speed. Oh, and I sprinkled coconut over the top and around the sides. It made a nice presentation. I think that this could be made lighter by: using Cool Whip Light, Fat-free Sugar-free pudding mix, and light cream cheese. I chose this cake for our potluck because I also made the Cavity Maker Chocolate Cake from this site, which is very dark and heavy. It was a great complement, and many people had a little of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I just made this cake and the frosting is so delicious!! I can't wait to take it to my family party later today. I know they will love it. I did drain the pineapple as recommended and I used light cool whip. The consistency and taste were perfect!! Update - since originally making this recipe, I cannot go to a party without bringing it. Everyone is crazy about this cake, even those who do not normally like cake. It is light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States