Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I'm giving it 2 stars because I was told the cake was good, although it didn't all go. I know it got great reviews and maybe it was just my taste, but I really didn't care for the icing. I couldn't get passed the texture of the crushed pineapple and mandarin oranges. I also think I don't like cool whip in my icings. Sorry, but this just wasn't for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I treated this recipe more like a concept....lots of substitutions, and it still worked out wonderfully! I didn't need a big fancy cake, so I baked the cake in two 8x8 pans - one for now, one for the freezer. I used a coconut cake mix, and the 'low fat preparation'. For the 'frosting' I used fatfree cream cheese, the cup and a half of powdered sugar, then sugar free vanilla pudding mix, the crushed pineapple, just one can of drained mandarin oranges, and fat free cool whip. Even though I had reduced the 1 can of mandarin oranges, I still had plenty of topping, and the cake is really tasty, even with all the reduced fat and reduced sugar options I used. Thanks for this really lovely flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
oh holy mama was this good!!!Both families loved it for a lighter xmas cake-perfection for summer picnics cant wait...DEFINATELY A KEEPER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
this is the best! My 13 YO daughter asks for it for every birthday, and we make it 'just because' sometimes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monnik
Home Town: Alleman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Amazing cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
THIS WAS SO AWESOME! I have a saying "if it's not chocolate it's not worth it." This was so good and light, I am all about chocolate and not so much on fruit. This had me hooked i'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Amazing....My whole family loved it....Don't change a thing. My sister was eating the frosting out of the bowl:) Would like to try with other fruit like cherries, or apricot....It was so good I might just leave alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very good cake for a warm summer day. I made this cake the day before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
HUGE compliments on this cake. Changed only slightly. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar and found that was plenty. I used the juice from the pineapple, but not the oranges. I also found that the mixer was enough to break up the oranges, when I used high speed. Oh, and I sprinkled coconut over the top and around the sides. It made a nice presentation. I think that this could be made lighter by: using Cool Whip Light, Fat-free Sugar-free pudding mix, and light cream cheese. I chose this cake for our potluck because I also made the Cavity Maker Chocolate Cake from this site, which is very dark and heavy. It was a great complement, and many people had a little of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I just made this cake and the frosting is so delicious!! I can't wait to take it to my family party later today. I know they will love it. I did drain the pineapple as recommended and I used light cool whip. The consistency and taste were perfect!! Update - since originally making this recipe, I cannot go to a party without bringing it. Everyone is crazy about this cake, even those who do not normally like cake. It is light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States