Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by DAWNMARIES1218
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Absolutely excellent! I have used this recipe several times at my summer bbq's and it's a HUGE hit. The only thing that I do differently is toast coconut up in the oven and sprinkle on top edge. I also place the mandarin oranges to look like flowers and place a maracchino cherry in the center. It really makes the cake look beautiful. You really can't loose making this cake! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNMARIES1218

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
A truly beautiful and delicious cake!! Mine turned out looking just like the picture! I made the icing first and let it sit in the refridgerator while I made and baked the cake, only taking it out at right when I was ready to use it. This made the whole process easy and it stayed on the cake perfectly. This is definitely one of those that tastes better after getting thoroughly chilled in the refridgerator (2-3 days) though. I can imagine it would be good with coconut in the icing, cake, or even both and with orange flavored cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Light and delicious. The only change I made was completely draining the pineapples before adding them, then gradually adding the juice later. I used the recipe in a 3 tier birthday cake, using the pineapple/mandarin mix as a filling and fondant over the entire cake. Since it isn't very sweet, it almost neutralizes the fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexxy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I liked this cake! It was light and great for warm weather. My dad said this was the best cake he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
this cake is AWESOME! I did use two pkgs of the vanilla pudding instead of one, but other then that I followed the recipe. My family asks me to make this when ever we have a get together. great in the summer and spring when you are looking for a fruity-sweet cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I didn't have any yellow cake mix on hand, so I used white instead. I thought the 4 eggs and cup of oil was too much, so I ignored that and went with the back of the cake box. But instead of putting water in it, I put the oranges and added water until it was "cake batter" consistency. I agree with others that you can't even tell the cake has the oranges in it. Also, use a 9x13 pan like it tells you, because if you use 2 circle pans, the top layer tends to just fall off the cool whip icing. Although, I think I would make this again because it tasted really good in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkLily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
EASY AND EXCELLENT! I made this for a co-workers birthday. There is usually leftover cake, but not on this occasion! This cake was really light and delicious. May try to add shreaded coconut to the frosting next time. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The BEST cake I've EVER had--even better than chocolate cake!! It's also a very, very attractive looking cake. Tons of people ask me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Let's face it.. the cake itself is not what we're reviewing here.. it's mainly the cake icing. It's so light, delicious and addicting, and can go well with basically any cake. I recommend chilling the icing for a couple of hours before spreading it so that it will stay on the cake easier. I garnished my cake with grated coconut to complement the pineapple. It was great! I will definitely be making again! (Just to let you know, this recipe makes a TON of icing.. the leftovers make a wonderful fruit dip!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is excellent. The frosting is so good, it almost didn't make it on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States