Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I LOVE THIS, VERY LIGHT. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This cake won in my first entry to a bake off. It is so moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerryT
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made this cake for tomorrow's company, but temtation gave in and hubby and I had to sample it tonight! This cake is outstanding! And it is aptly named! I made some healthy changes, albeit minor ones. I used 1/2 C. Splenda instead of XXX sugar; 1 C. applesauce in place of 1/3 C. oil; and cheesecake flavored pudding. I added a packet of unsweetened orange Kool-Aid to the icing. I always like the fillings in my cakes to be a bit different than the outer frosting. So I took 1/3 of the frosting and added 1/2 C. shredded coconut and 1/2 C. chopped maraschino cherries. I used this for the filling between layers, and it gave the middle of the cake a bit richer color. The Kool-Aid adds a nice tangy punch. Also, I pressed the juice from the pineapple through a colander, and discarded the juice. It wasn't needed at all. I chilled the frosting while baking the cake. We cut the cake straight from the fridge, and it was delicious. Very light and refreshing cake without the sugary sweetness of a traditional frosting. The cake itself is extremely moist. Sixteen ounces of whipped topping was too much, but 10 ounces was perfect (about a tub and a half.). Thank you Glenda for this great recipe! I will be making every summer! I put a picture of it in my profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
The frosting on this cake is to die for. I used 3 oz more cream cheese for the flavor. Put this icing in the fridge for a couple of hours at least and spread generously; there's plenty. =) I put it on orange cake the first time and coconut breading for my best friend's birthday, garnished with shredded coconut naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
this cake is EXCELLENT THANK YOU FOR SHARING...I get request for this recipe every Easter from family members
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this for a wedding shower and everyone was asking for the recipe. One lady said, "It's so light and fresh". I couldn't agree more. I made the cake without any changes. Who would change perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I wish I would have read the reviews before making this cake. The frosting was a little soupy so had trouble on the sides of cake. Topping and layers were fine, as another user also stated. I would suggest doing what other users suggested by either placing the frosting in the fridge first, or setting aside the pineapple juice to use as needed. Also, I didn't cut the cake, and just used two rounds with the frosting in between the two cakes to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAWNMARIES1218
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Absolutely excellent! I have used this recipe several times at my summer bbq's and it's a HUGE hit. The only thing that I do differently is toast coconut up in the oven and sprinkle on top edge. I also place the mandarin oranges to look like flowers and place a maracchino cherry in the center. It really makes the cake look beautiful. You really can't loose making this cake! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNMARIES1218

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
A truly beautiful and delicious cake!! Mine turned out looking just like the picture! I made the icing first and let it sit in the refridgerator while I made and baked the cake, only taking it out at right when I was ready to use it. This made the whole process easy and it stayed on the cake perfectly. This is definitely one of those that tastes better after getting thoroughly chilled in the refridgerator (2-3 days) though. I can imagine it would be good with coconut in the icing, cake, or even both and with orange flavored cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Light and delicious. The only change I made was completely draining the pineapples before adding them, then gradually adding the juice later. I used the recipe in a 3 tier birthday cake, using the pineapple/mandarin mix as a filling and fondant over the entire cake. Since it isn't very sweet, it almost neutralizes the fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexxy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States