Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
My best friend grandmother made this for us when we were teenagers (53 now). Best cake I have ever had. Now I make it for my children. Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I'm sorry I didn't read more reviews before attempting this cake. The frosting/filling was way too loose and didn't set up well. I should have drained all the liquid from the canned pineapple and maybe have used a larger size box of instant pudding or another block of cream cheese to make it more manageable. The cake was really a mess but tasted quite good. I will try this again using the aforementioned changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great cake! It's not near as dense and rich as most cakes which is what usually turns me off to them anyway. I did add chopped pecans to the icing which makes a nice addition. Love it-Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this for Father's Day in a trifle since I reside in a tropical climate. It was delicious and very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Apple

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good frosting, but way too much. Will make again, but cut back on frosting. A little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING !I made this for my parents and siblings and they all loved it ! There was a ton of frosting left over and we used it as a fruit dip with pineapple and mango... i wil definetly be saving this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is fantastic! Definitely refrigerate the icing for a while before icing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great cake. Not too sweet....just right ..makes you feel like its summer when you make it in winter..aahhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I agree that it reminds me of an ambrosia type desert. Therefore, I sprinkle a bit of browned coconut to the outside icing which adds a bit more tropical flavor and makes the cake look finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moravia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm a rookie baker, it's an Easy recipe!! Friends and Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States