Million Dollar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I'm sorry I didn't read more reviews before attempting this cake. The frosting/filling was way too loose and didn't set up well. I should have drained all the liquid from the canned pineapple and maybe have used a larger size box of instant pudding or another block of cream cheese to make it more manageable. The cake was really a mess but tasted quite good. I will try this again using the aforementioned changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great cake! It's not near as dense and rich as most cakes which is what usually turns me off to them anyway. I did add chopped pecans to the icing which makes a nice addition. Love it-Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this for Father's Day in a trifle since I reside in a tropical climate. It was delicious and very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Apple

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good frosting, but way too much. Will make again, but cut back on frosting. A little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING !I made this for my parents and siblings and they all loved it ! There was a ton of frosting left over and we used it as a fruit dip with pineapple and mango... i wil definetly be saving this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is fantastic! Definitely refrigerate the icing for a while before icing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great cake. Not too sweet....just right ..makes you feel like its summer when you make it in winter..aahhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I agree that it reminds me of an ambrosia type desert. Therefore, I sprinkle a bit of browned coconut to the outside icing which adds a bit more tropical flavor and makes the cake look finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moravia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm a rookie baker, it's an Easy recipe!! Friends and Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm a guy and like to cook/try out new recipes. I have made this cake 3 times now, with no changes. It was a big hit the time I took it to a potluck and the comments were,"you made this, really?" As others have suggested, dental floss works great to divide the rounds, along with toothpicks as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States