Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This makes the best gluten-free muffin I have tasted--light, crunchy, sweet. I made the following changes to make it gluten-free: I used 1 cup of millet flour, then 1/2 cup each of the following: rice flour, white bean or fava bean flour, and amaranth or quinoa flour. Feel free to make other substitutions for these flours if you have other favorites. I also used soy milk instead of buttermilk, adding 1 Tbsp. of vinegar to the soy milk and letting it sit for five minutes. Great recipe--everyone loves it! The honey makes it irresistable to my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Yum! I AM guilty of changes - half applesauce for the oil, ground oatmeal and seven grains for the millet and part of the flour, and I also added walnuts, raisins, and cranberries. But - excellent whole-grain taste and very moist, tender, and just a little bit of chew; a great base. I'll definitely make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
i am the baker for a whole foods co-op in northern minnesota and i have to make muffins every morning. just on a whim, i tried these this morning and i was so pleased! they are delicious and i am certain they will fly off the shelves. i make muffins in the big tins, so for this recipe i doubled it and ended up with 8 muffins. i also added more millet...a good choice. i am now enjoying one of the extras with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I really love this recipe. I add extra millet for the crunch. It works perfectly as is, and also doubles very well. My kids eat these faster than I can make them, and it's so healthy for them, I don't mind at all! No white sugar and white flour, plus the extra nutrition of the millet make these great, but the really great thing is that they are very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMU3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Yummy. I made 4 dozen mini-muffins, baked for 10 minutes. I manufactured "buttermilk" by adding a T of lemon juice to a cup of milk. I subbed 1/4 c non-fat vanilla yogurt for half the oil. Thanks for the recipe, Himeesgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm a novice when it comes to millet, and when people talked about the 'crunch' in the muffin, I almost got scared off. That didn't sound good. But it is! It's delicious! I didn't have quite all the ingredients so, following other reviewer's suggestions, I left out the egg and I mashed up an overripe pear to replace most of the oil. It was moist and tender, but still held together nicely. Because of the whole wheat flour, I was very surprised how much this muffin rose, and how light it was. It's not a sweet muffin, but it's great with honey butter, very nutritious, and the way I made it, completely guilt free. This is totally a keeper. EDIT: Having made these about a dozen times, I thought I'd mention a good variation we found - mashed pear as listed above, with 1 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of grated nutmeg. Just gives it a little depth, and makes the house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teebi
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
WOW! I loved this recipe! Very healthy due to the 100% whole wheat and the millet, but still light and fluffy enough to entice my taste-centric family. I had already eaten breakfast this morning, but after sampling one I suddenky found myself polishing off another! They were but 15 seconds out of the oven, and elevated me to a state of Nirvana. The millet adds a pleasant crunch, and though I was afraid that the flavor would be bland and lacking, it was absolutely perfect. I might experiment around with substituting applesauce for the oil, to reduce fat, but if it changes the texture and flavor too badly, I think that I can cope with the slight guilt of indulging in such a yummy treat. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
These were so good! I may never make cornbread muffins with a meal again - I'll make these! The millet was such a yummy crunchy addition. I subbed some wheat bran and flaxseed meal for about 1/3 of the flour, just to up the nutrition even more; mine only took 13 minutes in my oven. Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I ground my own wheat for these. They turned out wonderfully well - not dense like many whole wheat recipes. I also added chocolate chips to a few as an experiment. It wasn't so great. But what was great was adding a teaspoon of apricot or blackberry jam to the middle of the muffins before baking. They were yummy! I will definitely use this recipe again. It's healthy and delicious and is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was a very yummy muffin! Did not change anything and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States