Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I am in LOVE with this recipe! I cannot review it based on its original ingredients, however, because I veganized it. The veganized version is stellar and is going to be one of my new favorite recipes! To veganize this recipe, use 1 cup non-dairy milk mixed with 1 tablespoon vinegar (I used almond milk with apple cider vinegar; it curdled very nicely). Replace the honey with the same amount of agave nectar. I also removed the egg and did not replace it with anything (which makes my version of this recipe even easier, eh?). As for the oil, I did what others suggested and replaced 1/2 of the oil with 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Thanks, HIMEESGIRL, for a great base recipe. You should try 'em vegan, too; I think you'll be impressed! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Awesome muffins!! I love the crunch of the millet. These are definitally a keeper! They are hard to stop eating!! Thanks for this recipe. I tried to make it healthier so I exchanged the oil for fruit. Didn't have any applesauce, so I mashed a ripe pear. It was yummy! Also, used 1 cup oat flour and 1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love the crunch of the millet! I used whole grain millet instead of millet flour. I used soy milk instead of buttermilk. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great recipe - lightly sweetened as promised - which is something that I like for a morning muffin. Used olive oil and the flavor came through along with the honey. The muffins were really fluffy, almost pancake like - but this maybe because I used a mixed white and bran flour - I imagine that a wheat flour would give it a more "muffin" texture. Really moist and light. If you're looking for a dense (cake-like) muffin - you may want to skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wow! These muffins are GREAT! Finally, a muffin I can eat for breakfast and not feel guilty about! These taste great and are good for you, what's not to love? :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Utterly tasteless. Unusually bland even for healthy muffins. I had to make subs, but no different than anyone else. I subbed barley malt syrup for honey, almond milk and lemon juice instead of buttermilk and yogurt for the oil. I can't imagine how to salvage them unless I bury them in peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These muffins were delicious! Light and fluffy, not dense the way whole wheat muffins often are, with the perfect amount of sweetness. I ate one with dinner dipping it in soup (had no bread on hand), then later spread some jam in the middle and ate another as dessert! I second guessed the recipe and added a few more shakes of flour b/c I thought it looked too liquidy, but it actually would have been fine--I actually wish mine were a tad more moist. Instead of buttermilk, I used 1 c. soy milk + 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar (you let it sit and curdle for a few mins). Egg replacer works great as well, so these are easily made vegan. I also used 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. of oil to make it healthier. Next time I'm gonna up the millet content, but these were awesome--thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
love these muffins. followed recipe exactly. millet gives a nice crunch to the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were really good...the baking soda flavor was detectable but not a huge distraction. I used half applesauce, half butter for the oil and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. I like how theyre not too sweet. impossible to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Absolutely the most fantastic muffins! I have used both sour milk and buttermilk and prefer the sour milk method. Every time I make these for dinner guests I get rave reviews and a request for the recipe! We don't even bother making corn bread anymore. These are too wonderful! The bonus is they are yummy as breakfast muffins too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States