Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was a very yummy muffin! Did not change anything and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was wonderful, and tasted just as good when I replaced half the oil with unsweetened applesauce, decreasing the fat and calories a lot (even though they're already pretty light!). I also did a little more than 1/2 cup of millet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teebi
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
WOW! I loved this recipe! Very healthy due to the 100% whole wheat and the millet, but still light and fluffy enough to entice my taste-centric family. I had already eaten breakfast this morning, but after sampling one I suddenky found myself polishing off another! They were but 15 seconds out of the oven, and elevated me to a state of Nirvana. The millet adds a pleasant crunch, and though I was afraid that the flavor would be bland and lacking, it was absolutely perfect. I might experiment around with substituting applesauce for the oil, to reduce fat, but if it changes the texture and flavor too badly, I think that I can cope with the slight guilt of indulging in such a yummy treat. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I added 1 cup toasted wheat germ and doubled the millet. Delicious! Sweet, but not too sweet, and the millet is so crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I really love this recipe. I add extra millet for the crunch. It works perfectly as is, and also doubles very well. My kids eat these faster than I can make them, and it's so healthy for them, I don't mind at all! No white sugar and white flour, plus the extra nutrition of the millet make these great, but the really great thing is that they are very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMU3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is one of the simplest and quickest muffins recipes ever! I added 1/2 cup of millet, and the end result was wonderful. I love the crunchiness of the them. Serve with jam and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
These were so good! I may never make cornbread muffins with a meal again - I'll make these! The millet was such a yummy crunchy addition. I subbed some wheat bran and flaxseed meal for about 1/3 of the flour, just to up the nutrition even more; mine only took 13 minutes in my oven. Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I signed up as a member just so I could review this recipe! I don't generally like muffins as I find them too sweet/oily. I was impressed by the ingredients in these and thought I would try them out for breakfast. Not only are they healthy - they are SOO tasty! Even my husband, who has a big sweet tooth, was raving about them. I followed the recipe exactly, using coconut oil (for added health benefits). They had just the right about of sweetness and were light and fluffy, with the millet adding just the right about of crunch. We will definitely make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These Muffins were very good. I did do a few things differently. I did not have whole wheat flour on hand, but I did have whole spelt. So I used that. I also used regular milk since I didn't have buttermilk on hand. I bought some buttermilk yesterday and I am eager to try it with buttermilk. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
i am the baker for a whole foods co-op in northern minnesota and i have to make muffins every morning. just on a whim, i tried these this morning and i was so pleased! they are delicious and i am certain they will fly off the shelves. i make muffins in the big tins, so for this recipe i doubled it and ended up with 8 muffins. i also added more millet...a good choice. i am now enjoying one of the extras with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States