Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This makes the best gluten-free muffin I have tasted--light, crunchy, sweet. I made the following changes to make it gluten-free: I used 1 cup of millet flour, then 1/2 cup each of the following: rice flour, white bean or fava bean flour, and amaranth or quinoa flour. Feel free to make other substitutions for these flours if you have other favorites. I also used soy milk instead of buttermilk, adding 1 Tbsp. of vinegar to the soy milk and letting it sit for five minutes. Great recipe--everyone loves it! The honey makes it irresistable to my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This recipe is really easy. Even my husband--who usually hates whole grains--loves these muffins. The next day they are best served with butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Great muffins! My picky eater of a husband complained only that that the millet made them too crunchy (he doesn't like it when I use medium milled corn meal for corn bread either). I plan to soak the millet for a few hours when I make these again. Thank you for a great and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very yummy! I was surprised how light these were with the whole grain. I made the following substitutions: generous with the millet, substituted half the whole wheat flour with millet flour, used powdered buttermilk, substituted half the oil with applesauce, and for extra flavor added a splash of vanilla and mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These muffins are very tasty. I made them once at the servings provided. I ate them so fast, the next time I made them, I tripled the batch and froze the extras. They're my favorite muffin to make so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were only good when you consider how good they are for you. And while I suppose anyone looking at a sugarfree millet muffin recipe really values nutritional density in their food, I think that at least one review here should acknowledge that. They're great for you and taste ok too... I also tried making them with only 1/4 c oil, 1 apple grated, some cinnamon, nutmeg and dried cranberries, and they were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were great! When I noticed the recipe had no sugar I was concerned, but my daughter and I loved these. I made them in mini-muffin tins and they're a wonderful snack for my daughter (& me) - yummy yet healthy! My boyfriend ate them with chili and said they remind him of cornbread muffins but (I don't like cornbread) I really liked these... I couldn't find a small jug of buttermilk so I found another recipe with buttermilk to use up the rest of the buttermilk with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
i am the baker for a whole foods co-op in northern minnesota and i have to make muffins every morning. just on a whim, i tried these this morning and i was so pleased! they are delicious and i am certain they will fly off the shelves. i make muffins in the big tins, so for this recipe i doubled it and ended up with 8 muffins. i also added more millet...a good choice. i am now enjoying one of the extras with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
These are super yummy and easy and good for you. I added some flax seed and wheat germ, and also extra millet. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayaileen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laytonville, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These Muffins were very good. I did do a few things differently. I did not have whole wheat flour on hand, but I did have whole spelt. So I used that. I also used regular milk since I didn't have buttermilk on hand. I bought some buttermilk yesterday and I am eager to try it with buttermilk. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States