Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Made these this morning, these are more of a cornbread type muffin. The millet was crunchy (I added 3/4 cup based on other reviews). I found them rather bland and thought they would be better with jam. I will make them again but will add more flavoring ingredients such as cranberries/walnuts or an extract. They would however be absolutely excellent with chili just as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daunie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I made these muffins today and added some dried fruits and walnuts. I also used applesauce fr the oil. These muffins are really yummy and the millet gives a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Penn Yan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This makes the best gluten-free muffin I have tasted--light, crunchy, sweet. I made the following changes to make it gluten-free: I used 1 cup of millet flour, then 1/2 cup each of the following: rice flour, white bean or fava bean flour, and amaranth or quinoa flour. Feel free to make other substitutions for these flours if you have other favorites. I also used soy milk instead of buttermilk, adding 1 Tbsp. of vinegar to the soy milk and letting it sit for five minutes. Great recipe--everyone loves it! The honey makes it irresistable to my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This recipe is really easy. Even my husband--who usually hates whole grains--loves these muffins. The next day they are best served with butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Great muffins! My picky eater of a husband complained only that that the millet made them too crunchy (he doesn't like it when I use medium milled corn meal for corn bread either). I plan to soak the millet for a few hours when I make these again. Thank you for a great and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very yummy! I was surprised how light these were with the whole grain. I made the following substitutions: generous with the millet, substituted half the whole wheat flour with millet flour, used powdered buttermilk, substituted half the oil with applesauce, and for extra flavor added a splash of vanilla and mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These muffins are very tasty. I made them once at the servings provided. I ate them so fast, the next time I made them, I tripled the batch and froze the extras. They're my favorite muffin to make so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were only good when you consider how good they are for you. And while I suppose anyone looking at a sugarfree millet muffin recipe really values nutritional density in their food, I think that at least one review here should acknowledge that. They're great for you and taste ok too... I also tried making them with only 1/4 c oil, 1 apple grated, some cinnamon, nutmeg and dried cranberries, and they were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were great! When I noticed the recipe had no sugar I was concerned, but my daughter and I loved these. I made them in mini-muffin tins and they're a wonderful snack for my daughter (& me) - yummy yet healthy! My boyfriend ate them with chili and said they remind him of cornbread muffins but (I don't like cornbread) I really liked these... I couldn't find a small jug of buttermilk so I found another recipe with buttermilk to use up the rest of the buttermilk with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
i am the baker for a whole foods co-op in northern minnesota and i have to make muffins every morning. just on a whim, i tried these this morning and i was so pleased! they are delicious and i am certain they will fly off the shelves. i make muffins in the big tins, so for this recipe i doubled it and ended up with 8 muffins. i also added more millet...a good choice. i am now enjoying one of the extras with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States