Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. We cut the oil in half and added 1/4 of applesauce and found the batter was fine for 12 muffins and was moist. The taste was like sweet wheat bread, with the benefit of a little crunchiness from the millet. The kids gobbled them up with dinner, but they'd be equally good for a snack or breakfast with a little jam. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great muffins. Made as written except had no honey so used sugar. I also used coconut oil instead just for fun and it was great. Subbed 1/4c flour for 1/4c ground flax seed to add some omega 3s. Different but delicious muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great recipe! I increased the amount of millet and really love the little crunch! I feel so good about not having sugar in it. Super yummy and just lightly sweet. 15 minutes was too long in my oven and they were slightly overdone. I will be making these for a late mother's day breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
LOVE THESE!! I did make a few substitutions, but the end result was fantastic. I used raw kefir in place of buttermilk, brown rice flour instead of whole wheat, 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup coconut oil in place of oil. DE-LICIOUS! They taste like buttered corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
fantastic! Subbed soy milk + 1 T vinegar for the buttermilk. Wonder if you could make the batter into pancakes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I thought they were a little bland, I added 8 medjool dates. Tasted fruity and sweet. My 15 month old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made these gluten free for my family by substituting Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour for the whole wheat flour (don't forget to add guar gum if substituting gluten free). My son was recently diagnosed with celiac and is very picky loved these. They are light and fluffy and muffin-like. I added an apple, ground cinnamon and vanilla extract. I will be using this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These have been made twice in as many days, here. They're delicious as written, but the second time around I added a cup of raisins I had soaked for 30 minutes in hot water to these muffins, as well as about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. The raisins made these even better. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chemainus, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good for a whole grain muffin but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States