Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe should cover 15 cupcakes, so if you need more or want to cover a cake, make sure you adjust by doubling the recipe. I find that a hand mixer works best when blending the powdered sugar in. This icing is very sticky, just keep that in mind! I transfer the icing after blending into a pastry bag and I pipe it onto the cupcake. Make sure you don't put too much onto the cupcake because it spreads out, more so if the icing is still warm. If yoou let it cool, it will hold it's shape better. Just make sure you mix it well if you decide to let it cool so the icing is smooth. I also tend to pipe my icing on thicker, so I only get about 15 cupcakes covered with this recipe, but you may get more than that. If you need to frost more cupcakes, make you double the recipe to accomodate your needs. Yes, this is sweet, yes the icing is thick and sticky to work with. I really highly recommend using this on the Cookie Dough Cupcakes from this site. Please follow the recipe before winging it and rating it badly. Like I mentioned, keep in mind this is sweet and not a fluffy icing before you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So delicious and rich! I let the icing cool to room temperature, stirring it every few minutes. When I frosted the cupcakes, the swirls didn't melt away. I used this frosting on both chocolate and vanilla cupcakes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Easy to follow recipe with ingredients I had on hand. I was expecting more Milky Way flavor - but it mainly just tasted like a sweet glaze. I just read Pam-3boysMama's review after seeing her photo: I think it's a great tip, to let the icing come to room temperature so it holds a swirl. It looks prettier than the glaze that just oozes down the sides. *Overall, fun recipe to try, just didn't pack the flavor I wanted/expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I tasted this recipe and it was delicious!!!!!!!! Best icing i've ever had!!!! Milky Way is my favorite chocolate, so thats a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Perfectly perfect! I LOVED this even more than I expected. I paired it with the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake recipe from this site. Delicious cold as well :) I doubled the recipe for 24 regular cupcakes and 6 mini cupcakes. Thanks MSC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Yum,Yum. Do a small (8") cake. Put one layer on dish and spread 1/2 icing on that.Top with second layer and spread remaining icing on that then drizzle with caramel or chocolate icecream topping . Can refrigerate to keep firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was somewhat disappointed, especially since some reviewers raved excitedly about this. I was expecting something unique as well as distinctly tasting of Milky Way candy bars. I have to agree with those reviewers who found this overly sweet with not much flavor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I wasn't sure after reading the review if this was going to be a hit for us, but I'd bought the Milky Way candy, so I forged ahead. I frosted Martha Stewart's yellow buttermilk cupcakes. Cut back on the butter and increased the milk a bit. Didn't measure the powdered sugar, just added and mixed with a hand mixer until it was the consistency I wanted. Even after chilling in the fridge, it coats the cupcakes more like a glaze than a frosting. My husband's comment was, "It's ok, but not one of my favorites." I'll take a few to work tomorrow and see if they're more of a hit there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was met with mixed reviews. The texture is very thick-- almost like fondant. If people aren't expecting the chewiness they are really caught off guard. Very sweet! (you are adding a cup and a quarter of sugar and butter to FOUR Milky Way bars :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's a decent, easy recipe. Extremely sweet. I was expecting better after reading all the glowing reviews. A few of my guests liked it a lot, but most of us thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States