Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wow! Just a warning - this is only for people with a sweet tooth. Lucky for me, I have a major sweet tooth! This icing is just wonderful. It has a lot of Milky Way flavor and tastes just like the candy bar. It is perfect on vanilla cupcakes. I let it cool to room temp and piped it onto the cupcakes. It frosted about 16 cupcakes for me. I completely licked the bowl clean, I couldn't help myself. Thank you for this amazing recipe, MySweetCreations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wowza was this sweet, definetly needs to be paired with a cake that isn't too sweet. I think next time I make it I'm going to try using Milky Way Dark bars and see how that turns out, I can't wait to make this recipe again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was very good, very sweet, but good. It is a must to let it come to room temp before attempting to ice the cake. (Trust me). It's also very thick and a little tricky to work with, but the end result is delish. Also, it took more like two minutes in the microwave, stirring frequently. This would be fabulous on Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Easy to follow recipe with ingredients I had on hand. I was expecting more Milky Way flavor - but it mainly just tasted like a sweet glaze. I just read Pam-3boysMama's review after seeing her photo: I think it's a great tip, to let the icing come to room temperature so it holds a swirl. It looks prettier than the glaze that just oozes down the sides. *Overall, fun recipe to try, just didn't pack the flavor I wanted/expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So delicious and rich! I let the icing cool to room temperature, stirring it every few minutes. When I frosted the cupcakes, the swirls didn't melt away. I used this frosting on both chocolate and vanilla cupcakes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yum! I used this as a filling for a yellow cake for my son's birthday. He loved it! I did thin it out a little bit, and I cut the sugar down a little, since I was going to be icing the cake with a frosting that I know is super sweet. Very good. I will use this again. Next time on cupcakes. I just really didn't want to wait until I got another chance to bake. This recipe has been calling me since it got published :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! If you like cookie dough - you will love these. They are very sweet and gooey - so one at a sitting is enough, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really liked this, my husband was not crazy about it but he doesn't like anything "different" will defiantly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I tasted this recipe and it was delicious!!!!!!!! Best icing i've ever had!!!! Milky Way is my favorite chocolate, so thats a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Yum,Yum. Do a small (8") cake. Put one layer on dish and spread 1/2 icing on that.Top with second layer and spread remaining icing on that then drizzle with caramel or chocolate icecream topping . Can refrigerate to keep firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States