Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I wasn't sure after reading the review if this was going to be a hit for us, but I'd bought the Milky Way candy, so I forged ahead. I frosted Martha Stewart's yellow buttermilk cupcakes. Cut back on the butter and increased the milk a bit. Didn't measure the powdered sugar, just added and mixed with a hand mixer until it was the consistency I wanted. Even after chilling in the fridge, it coats the cupcakes more like a glaze than a frosting. My husband's comment was, "It's ok, but not one of my favorites." I'll take a few to work tomorrow and see if they're more of a hit there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
It's quite dense but the taste is great. I cut it in 1/2 (using 7 mini milky ways) and it was enough to kinda plop over my 8x11 "simple white cake" recipe from this site. It's kinda of a gooey frosting, which I wasn't really expecting. I suppose with a pastry bag and a large tip it would be fine on a cupcake.. but probably won't do again for a regular sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by ERINELIZ821
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Really sweet, as said before. Can adjust consistency by adding milk and/or powdered sugar. Does well to dip cupcakes in as a glaze, but gets thick fast. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Soooo good--made me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was somewhat disappointed, especially since some reviewers raved excitedly about this. I was expecting something unique as well as distinctly tasting of Milky Way candy bars. I have to agree with those reviewers who found this overly sweet with not much flavor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's a decent, easy recipe. Extremely sweet. I was expecting better after reading all the glowing reviews. A few of my guests liked it a lot, but most of us thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Easy, very sweet and good. Used 20 bite size milky way pieces. Kept other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is perfect as is.....loved it!!! I could have eaten this icing all by itself!!! LOL....topped Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST CUPCAKE recipe on this site. It was an amazing combo!! Yes the icing is on the loose side ( but it so does not matter!) and I did let it cool before topping the cupcakes as others suggested. So yummy....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was met with mixed reviews. The texture is very thick-- almost like fondant. If people aren't expecting the chewiness they are really caught off guard. Very sweet! (you are adding a cup and a quarter of sugar and butter to FOUR Milky Way bars :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States