Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I wasn't sure after reading the review if this was going to be a hit for us, but I'd bought the Milky Way candy, so I forged ahead. I frosted Martha Stewart's yellow buttermilk cupcakes. Cut back on the butter and increased the milk a bit. Didn't measure the powdered sugar, just added and mixed with a hand mixer until it was the consistency I wanted. Even after chilling in the fridge, it coats the cupcakes more like a glaze than a frosting. My husband's comment was, "It's ok, but not one of my favorites." I'll take a few to work tomorrow and see if they're more of a hit there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
It's quite dense but the taste is great. I cut it in 1/2 (using 7 mini milky ways) and it was enough to kinda plop over my 8x11 "simple white cake" recipe from this site. It's kinda of a gooey frosting, which I wasn't really expecting. I suppose with a pastry bag and a large tip it would be fine on a cupcake.. but probably won't do again for a regular sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by ERINELIZ821
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Really sweet, as said before. Can adjust consistency by adding milk and/or powdered sugar. Does well to dip cupcakes in as a glaze, but gets thick fast. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Soooo good--made me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I was somewhat disappointed, especially since some reviewers raved excitedly about this. I was expecting something unique as well as distinctly tasting of Milky Way candy bars. I have to agree with those reviewers who found this overly sweet with not much flavor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
It's a decent, easy recipe. Extremely sweet. I was expecting better after reading all the glowing reviews. A few of my guests liked it a lot, but most of us thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caradae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Easy, very sweet and good. Used 20 bite size milky way pieces. Kept other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is perfect as is.....loved it!!! I could have eaten this icing all by itself!!! LOL....topped Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST CUPCAKE recipe on this site. It was an amazing combo!! Yes the icing is on the loose side ( but it so does not matter!) and I did let it cool before topping the cupcakes as others suggested. So yummy....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was met with mixed reviews. The texture is very thick-- almost like fondant. If people aren't expecting the chewiness they are really caught off guard. Very sweet! (you are adding a cup and a quarter of sugar and butter to FOUR Milky Way bars :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States