Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made it exactly as written, then used it as a filling for chocolate cupcakes. I frosted them with my own buttercream frosting. A total hit with everyone! I will be using this recipe again for cupcakes I'm making for my daughter's graduation party this weekend. Thanks for sharing House of Aqua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Awesome cupcakes never had any better than these i did not have any choc bars so instead i used toffee. I love toffee and i love these cupcakes. What a great match ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this exactly per the recipe. I would give it 4 stars for flavor, but 1 star for "workability" so two stars it is. I just made this for a two layer chocolate cake. I did so, after reading all the so-so reviews, with the intention of it just being the filling between the two layers. After spreading it on layer one, I applied the top cake layer and made sure everything was lined up. Before I could even start using my regular frosting for the outside, this Milky Way concoction started oozing out and dripping down the sides of layer one. No problem, I decided to just frost layer one with Milky Way and the top layer with regular frosting. And then all heck broke loose. Layer two started sliding off center on the "flow" of the Milky Way mess. And of course it was too sticky to allow me to adjust it back. (Though I tried, partially succeeding, though naturally the top layer got a bit nicked up.) But it just slid right off again. So I frosted the top layer with regular frosting, let it all slide and do what it wanted to do. We'll eat it, but there will be no pretty picture of this cake posted here. It's too bad. The flavor of the Milky Way frosting was great. It had cooled to room temperature and was "stiff" in the bowl. Even though it was spread on a cooled cake, though, it just went "loose" on me. I've removed this from my recipe box, with disappointment. It was great in theory anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this icing yesterday to go on top of brownie vanilla cupcakes found here on AR and they were a big hit among all ages from 30 to 60. It is really thick sticky, more of a 'topping' than an 'icing', but the taste is great! I used reg Milky Way and Caramel Milky Way together. I suggest when you are adding the icing sugar is that you sift it to ensure it is smooth and lump free! After it was made, I put it in a piping bag and put it in the fridge to cool so it would be a little thicker and easier to pipe onto the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I just made this frosting. It was way to sweet and didn't have as much Milky Way taste as I had hoped. It did have a great chocolate taste, just very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
So unbelievably yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Fantastic, rich frosting. I doubled it to frost a cake, and if you do that you'll also need to double the microwave times. Whisk it really well and it will be nice and creamy. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Make this for my dad's birthday every year!! We use a spice cake!!!!!!! EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States