Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe should cover 15 cupcakes, so if you need more or want to cover a cake, make sure you adjust by doubling the recipe. I find that a hand mixer works best when blending the powdered sugar in. This icing is very sticky, just keep that in mind! I transfer the icing after blending into a pastry bag and I pipe it onto the cupcake. Make sure you don't put too much onto the cupcake because it spreads out, more so if the icing is still warm. If yoou let it cool, it will hold it's shape better. Just make sure you mix it well if you decide to let it cool so the icing is smooth. I also tend to pipe my icing on thicker, so I only get about 15 cupcakes covered with this recipe, but you may get more than that. If you need to frost more cupcakes, make you double the recipe to accomodate your needs. Yes, this is sweet, yes the icing is thick and sticky to work with. I really highly recommend using this on the Cookie Dough Cupcakes from this site. Please follow the recipe before winging it and rating it badly. Like I mentioned, keep in mind this is sweet and not a fluffy icing before you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made this today with Marianne's Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes. Very easy to make and the family really liked this icing! Thank You for sharing your awesome recipe Sweet Creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Perfectly perfect! I LOVED this even more than I expected. I paired it with the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake recipe from this site. Delicious cold as well :) I doubled the recipe for 24 regular cupcakes and 6 mini cupcakes. Thanks MSC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Yum,Yum. Do a small (8") cake. Put one layer on dish and spread 1/2 icing on that.Top with second layer and spread remaining icing on that then drizzle with caramel or chocolate icecream topping . Can refrigerate to keep firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I tasted this recipe and it was delicious!!!!!!!! Best icing i've ever had!!!! Milky Way is my favorite chocolate, so thats a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I really liked this, my husband was not crazy about it but he doesn't like anything "different" will defiantly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! If you like cookie dough - you will love these. They are very sweet and gooey - so one at a sitting is enough, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yum! I used this as a filling for a yellow cake for my son's birthday. He loved it! I did thin it out a little bit, and I cut the sugar down a little, since I was going to be icing the cake with a frosting that I know is super sweet. Very good. I will use this again. Next time on cupcakes. I just really didn't want to wait until I got another chance to bake. This recipe has been calling me since it got published :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
So delicious and rich! I let the icing cool to room temperature, stirring it every few minutes. When I frosted the cupcakes, the swirls didn't melt away. I used this frosting on both chocolate and vanilla cupcakes. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Easy to follow recipe with ingredients I had on hand. I was expecting more Milky Way flavor - but it mainly just tasted like a sweet glaze. I just read Pam-3boysMama's review after seeing her photo: I think it's a great tip, to let the icing come to room temperature so it holds a swirl. It looks prettier than the glaze that just oozes down the sides. *Overall, fun recipe to try, just didn't pack the flavor I wanted/expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States