Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I'm not a frosting lover...I'd rather eat cake plain than frosted but can't do that when baking for others. This frosting is so sweet but soooo good! I paired it with the Simple White Cake recipe from this site and it was the perfect balance because the cake wasn't too sweet. I was able to frost 22 cupcakes with one batch of frosting, probably because I frosted them with a knife and wasn't too generous with it because it was so sweet. Make sure that your cupcakes are cooled as well as the frosting. So good, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
very good. I did mix with mixer and let the frosting cool to room temp before I frosted cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
So yummy! Add a few extra Milky Way bars if you want a substantial Milky Way flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Had been eyeing this recipe for a few days since it showed up in my email. Definately love the flavor, I just wish it had a little thicker consistancy so it could pipe easier and hold it's swirl. But definately a keeper. I really think I will use it more as a center for layered cakes or pipe into center of cupcakes and use thicker icing on top. Anxious to experiment with other candy bars to see how it tastes, like snickers, the mint 3 musketeers or even reese's. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
WOW, what can I saw about this one.....SWEET!!!! EYE Rolling Greatness. OH HOLY COW, batman!!!! 1st of all, I ment to make this a couple of weeks ago, and I had been eyeing every photo since. I made this 3x, 1st batch I totally goofed on BIGTIME!! It wasn't melting down like I thought it should and by the time I added the c.s. and tasted it...it tasted burnt and was thick like fudge....didn't taste at all well. So when I was making the 2nd batch(I'll get to that in a sec, because it's different) I realized I didn't need to overly nuke the tar out of it. STAY WITH INSTRUCTIONS. The 2nd batch turned out totally awesome as far as following the instructions as written, and same with the 3rd batch. Now back to the 2nd batch. When I picked up the candy bars, I saw the 3 Musketeer Mint Mini bag, and thought, hmmmm, we love mint..can I adapt the recipe to it? It worked beautifully. So 2nd batch was made with a 9oz bag of Mint Minis and I replaced the vanilla extract with Pure Mint extract, and it wasn't overly powerful in mint, it was just right....OMG!! So the only thing was, I did see reviews that said to wait to frost when the icing came to room temp or cooled. I did that and I totally waited 2 hours after my cupcakes cooled, it set up nice, but quickly started to flatten. I think it would need 2 1/2 more cups of c.s. to totally stand up and not flatten. However, I'm not going to change it anytime soon, just use less icing to each cup cake and be happy happy. TY!!! WE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I used this to frost the Chocolate Bacon cupcakes from this site. I thought that the saltiness of the caramel would go well with the sweet/salty flavor of the cupcake. I was right - this icing was perfect. It really is simple to make. After I was done blending it, I put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes to set up and then piped it onto the cupcakes. I wish that I had chosen a different tip for the piping, but that is my fault. Will use again and again. I am going to try this on yellow cupcakes very soon. What a delicious, creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
WOW!!This is wonderful.... And I only used 2 candy bars. I bought the 3.63 oz "2toGo" MilkyWay and it was very sweet..I can't imagen the sugar rush if I had used 4.. I left everything else the same. This is in the favorites for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tazewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Couldn't stop myself from licking the spoon! Milky Ways are my favorite candy bar so I was excited to try this. Made this to top Marianne's Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes and it was perfect. I let the icing cool a bit before I spread it on the cupcakes with a knife. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
You have to know going in to this recipe that it will be sweet. That's the point, isn't it! This recipe very nicely covered 35 of my Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes in mini size. I'm glad I followed MySweetCreations's advice and used a piping bag (well, a quart-sized Ziplock freezer bag) because it just made it easier to handle. I'll be glad when I get better at decorating so they look more professional! My granddaughters are going to LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
very easy to make and sweet. Perfect for the cookie dough cupcakes! I let it sit at room temp. for about 20mins and it set really well on top of the cupcakes and held its form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwhyte00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States