Milky Way® Cupcake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lax Girly
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This frosting tasted and looked great but it was a huge hassle to pipe onto the cupcakes. Once on the cupcakes, it cooled and became kind of hard and unappetizing to bite through. I notice that when people ate this cupcake, they were taking the frosting off because it was so thick and hard to chew. I don't think that frosting should be chewable, but this was very chewable. It could have been better! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racincake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I don't know what I did different than other reviewers but I had to microwave it an additional 20 seconds and it was very very thick.Had to push out the chunks of caramel and mixed alot. Added the required powdered sugar and it was thick and smooth. Very sweet and tasty on a pan marble cake. Spread nicely except leave well enough alone. Went to "touch it up" and it started pulling up the cake and had to spend extra time fixing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
It was a taffy like consistency and I feel horrible for try this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We were bummed,very average and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I loved this! Unlike other reviewers I thought that it tasted very similar to milky ways. It IS very sweet but with a yellow cake that's just fine, no one found it to be too sweet at all. Definitely let it cool before frosting anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This for the most part wasn't bad, but was very sweet. I think next time I will pair it with a cake that isn't as sweet to see if it balanced better. I used it to ice the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes that my husband took to work for a benefit bake sale. Someone paid $40 for about a dozen cupcakes and then asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very sweet and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe for someone who really has a sweet tooth. It is a little more difficult to work with than say buttercream, but worth it. Also letting it cool down to room temperature is also a must. If not when you pipe it or spread it onto your cupcakes it just thins out and falls over the sides. I learned from mistake. I will definitely use this again and can not wait to try it on the cookie dough cupcakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States