Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I halved this recipe and it turned out very well, though I did have to boil my milk twice because I scorched it. The crust was a little difficult to work with, so I sprinkled some flour on it in the pie pan to make it easier to stretch. The crust didn't stay at the height of the pan, but that didn't matter because it ended up being the perfect height for the amount of custard the recipe made. In the future I will try adding some glazes or other flavors to the tart, but even without them it's still a tasty little dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
The dough does puff quite a bit. But the combo of the custard and dough was quite sweet. I think the dough might be good with lemon pudding or something alittle tart. The custard taste almost like rice pudding. SO I mixed a 1 1/2 cooked rice and chilled over night and it made a good easy rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
A real delight! I halfed the recipie to make only one pie (be careful if you use half the recipie by reducing the servings, it will only reduce the measurments in the list of ingrediants, not in the instructions). This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This is a real unique treat. Perfect for an ethnic food party. It really is a fun, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I didn't even know milk tarts existed until I made it! It's soooo good! This recipe made about 18 mini tarts since I didn't have 2 pie pans lying around. This is a really light and refreshing dessert. The only problem I had was with the batter. It was a bit crumbly, so I drizzled a bit of milk over it so it would hold better. The pie shell puffed up quite a bit in the oven so I patted it down gently with the back of a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
everyone loved it! what a great way to use up extra milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundalk, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I love the recipe milk tart and I made one of my frend make it and her family loves it very much and she is from New Zealand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
My parents, sister, my husband ate this one night. It was amazing especially after a hot curry dish. My dad alone ate 3/4 of one tart in one sitting. I will be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe; it was very rich and creamy. I loved the crust and think I will try it for other types of pies. I also liked the fact that this was easy to make and it made two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Not bad, but I think I would have preferred a crisper sugar cookie crust. Mine puffed and remained soft after baking. The pie was extremely sweet, too -- might be improved with some lemon zest or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States