Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Awesome! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
made this for a church function...it was the 1st dessert gone!!! can't wait to enjoy this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe, brought back memories of home. Quick, simple and easy to make. I cheated however, I used a graham cracker crust. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Holy.Cow. I'm fighting from eating the whole thing in one sitting. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My new sister in law is from SA, so for a dinner, I wanted something familiar to her since she has been eating "American" so much. I loved this, and she raved that it was delightful as well. I made one full pie then the extra I put into muffin tins for mini tarts. We liked those even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is the best custard filling I have ever made! It firms up nicely for cutting and serving but is smooth inside your mouth. It also has a much more pleasing flavor than custards with more egg in them. The crust was also delicious. Kind of like a giant soft sugar cookie. It puffs A LOT so spread it as thin as you can in your tart pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Came out just like South African Melktert, my South African husband was proud! However I used full cream milk and doubled the filling. And would suggest piercing the crust with a fork before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: West Bay, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
After reading the reviews, i must say i'm very surprised, mmm... this crust is not soft at all! you have to wait until it's completely cooled. To make sure that your tarts remain crusty, do not chill them (the crust could become soggy in the fridge). Mine also puffed up, and i had a hard time trying to remove them from the pan, but that's baking, we can't always blame the recipe. I had to add more flour, an extra tablespoon or so, but that was because of the eggs, we have our own chickens and they lay huge eggs, that's for sure! I also made mini tarts, and right after removing them from the oven, started pressing the center and sides of each tart with my thumb, so there'd be enough room for the custard later. I promise, when they cooled they were crusty and delicious. I was a bit skeptical about the custard, used a vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract, but it was bland. After eating one of the tarts, i only can say both the crust and custard pair perfectly, the crust contains enough sugar to offset the lack of it in the custard. These tarts are not good, they are scrumptious!!!! Added more sugar to the leftover custard, and served it in individual cups. Thank you Rene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had a friend from S Africa come over so I surprised him and his wife with this treat. He assured me it was very much a S African thing and said the dish was better then one he use to travel over an hour just to get. I suspect he was just being nice, but still - it tasted authentic to him. I used a double boiler which is gentler on the milk. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is excellent! I was lazy and dumped it into a store bought crust with good results. My only complaint is that it's so airy and yummy, that you can eat the entire tart in one sitting. I ladled a little bit of a sweet cranberry sauce (fruit pie filling type) over a couple pieces for a bit of zing - also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States