Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by zhou
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Amazing! I've never had milk tart before but I wanted to make something different and so glad I made this! My family loved it! Smelled so good after sprinkling some cinammon on top. Well, obviously cinnamon smells really good;) I used tin foil pie pan and didn't have any problem with the crust sticking like the other reviewers said when they've used glass pans. I made these exactly as written and since it didn't state what kind of milk to used, I used skim milk (my family only drinks skim milk so used what I had in frige). I read one of the reviewer stating that 2% milk didn't work, so I was kinda worried at first, but it turned out GRAET!! It held its shape even after cutting into it. My husband wanted me to make some more, so I'll definately make these again:) Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My homesick S'African sister-in-law from P.E. said the taste was "spot on". She told me the crust was a little thick and not to be afraid to really smash it down when pressing it along the sides and bottom. It did puff up considerably as was mentioned by another reviewer. I am not South African and this was only my second time enjoying melktert and I thought it was wonderful. I know there are 1001 ways to make these with wide variance in crusts across recipes, but I particularly enjoyed the sweetness and crumble of the crust with the creamy custard. 5 stars for a reliable recipe with easy to follow and accurate instructions and a delicious result. Next time I may lightly butter or grease one of the pie plates to see how that goes. It was not impossible to get slices out cleanly, but it took some working at it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definitely make it again when someone special is pining for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
taste awesome, crust sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious, and the crust is amazing. Do grease the pans before pressing the crust into them, though! It will stick quite badly if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This Milk Tart is great. The crust tastes like a sugar cookie and the filling is like a vanilla custard...delicious...My husband couldn't get enough of this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The crust was PERFECT and tasted so much like a sugar cookie...but the custard ended up smelling and tasting strongly of egg...so much so that we almost didn't want to eat it! We were very disappointed. We followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This tastes amazing on the second day. Add the vanilla after cooking, before putting into pie shell, this way it doesn't evaporate during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is so good! A great way to use up milk when you have too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Delicious. I doubled the amount of vanilla to add flavor. The soft, chewy crust is my favorite part, and I plan to use it with other fillings-- a fun and versatile dessert, and a good way to use up milk before it goes bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Nice change of pace for desert. Not to sweet, just right for a cup of tea or a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States