Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is the first time I am rating a recipe (although many of them I have taken of this site would have merited 5 star). This Milk Tart is exquisite! I just reduced the sugar a little bit. It was baked for one of our South African friends in celebration of his birthday. Many thanks Rene, also especially to your friend for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used to like in South Africa and loved milk tarts. This recipe is just how I remember them. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was really good, unique and simple. I had trouble with the crust, though not with it sticking badly. There just didn't seem to be enough for two pies. That said, it puffs up with cooking so it can be very thin in the plate prior to the oven. DO NOT use pie crust weight beans without a solid, one-piece layer between. I had two pieces of parchment and the beans rolled in between so that they baked into the puffed up crust. ICH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
As a South African whose favourite dessert is Milktart, I WHOLEHEARTEDLY endorse this recipe. My American friends especially loved the crust. Only thing is it was so good that I used the whole recipe for 6 people, and we nearly demolished it. Bake with generosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family loves this with a little cinnamon sprinkled on top or some sliced fruit. The crust is interesting -- more like a cookie than your usual pie crust. The only thing is that you have to grease the heck out of the pie pan, or this will stick. I greased it the first time, but the second time I didn't grease it enough and it stuck. Third time I remember :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Love this recipe! We make it with goat milk and duck eggs because we live on a small farm, but other than that I haven't altered the recipe and it works really well. I have, sometimes, added either a little bit of cocoa powder or a little bit of strong espresso to this to make flavoured ones, but just on it s own it gets gobbled up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Being a South African currently living Vancouver, we were thrilled to find a good melktert recipe that tastes as good as one from a tuisnywerheid (home industry). The crust is easy to make - although to prevent it from rising out of shape, place some raw beans on some parchment paper while it cooks. The filling sets beautifully although I needed slightly more filling than I ended up with to make the tarts a decent size. I will certainly make this again! I am so pleased it turned put the way it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have been making this for years and now it's time for the review... Don't use skimmed milk (I have the luxury of getting fresh milk - raw and FULL FAT - once in a while and it makes the BEST milk tart) The most difficult thing is not to curdle your eggs. Pour 1 of 2 laddles of the warm milk into the egg mixture, mix well and the pour this into the rest of the milk stirring all the time. The crust is: oke. We prefer another flaky crust recipe on this site or a crumb crust. Make this and enjoy one of the best South African traditions !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a very simple recipe to follow. The crust is wonderful! I'll be using it for several other pies from now on. My family suggested calling it Snickerdoole Pie. It sounds much more appetizing than "Milk Tart". This is not a heavy-feeling dessert. It's also not very sweet. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States