Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
As a South African whose favourite dessert is Milktart, I WHOLEHEARTEDLY endorse this recipe. My American friends especially loved the crust. Only thing is it was so good that I used the whole recipe for 6 people, and we nearly demolished it. Bake with generosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family loves this with a little cinnamon sprinkled on top or some sliced fruit. The crust is interesting -- more like a cookie than your usual pie crust. The only thing is that you have to grease the heck out of the pie pan, or this will stick. I greased it the first time, but the second time I didn't grease it enough and it stuck. Third time I remember :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Love this recipe! We make it with goat milk and duck eggs because we live on a small farm, but other than that I haven't altered the recipe and it works really well. I have, sometimes, added either a little bit of cocoa powder or a little bit of strong espresso to this to make flavoured ones, but just on it s own it gets gobbled up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Being a South African currently living Vancouver, we were thrilled to find a good melktert recipe that tastes as good as one from a tuisnywerheid (home industry). The crust is easy to make - although to prevent it from rising out of shape, place some raw beans on some parchment paper while it cooks. The filling sets beautifully although I needed slightly more filling than I ended up with to make the tarts a decent size. I will certainly make this again! I am so pleased it turned put the way it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have been making this for years and now it's time for the review... Don't use skimmed milk (I have the luxury of getting fresh milk - raw and FULL FAT - once in a while and it makes the BEST milk tart) The most difficult thing is not to curdle your eggs. Pour 1 of 2 laddles of the warm milk into the egg mixture, mix well and the pour this into the rest of the milk stirring all the time. The crust is: oke. We prefer another flaky crust recipe on this site or a crumb crust. Make this and enjoy one of the best South African traditions !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a very simple recipe to follow. The crust is wonderful! I'll be using it for several other pies from now on. My family suggested calling it Snickerdoole Pie. It sounds much more appetizing than "Milk Tart". This is not a heavy-feeling dessert. It's also not very sweet. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zhou
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Amazing! I've never had milk tart before but I wanted to make something different and so glad I made this! My family loved it! Smelled so good after sprinkling some cinammon on top. Well, obviously cinnamon smells really good;) I used tin foil pie pan and didn't have any problem with the crust sticking like the other reviewers said when they've used glass pans. I made these exactly as written and since it didn't state what kind of milk to used, I used skim milk (my family only drinks skim milk so used what I had in frige). I read one of the reviewer stating that 2% milk didn't work, so I was kinda worried at first, but it turned out GRAET!! It held its shape even after cutting into it. My husband wanted me to make some more, so I'll definately make these again:) Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My homesick S'African sister-in-law from P.E. said the taste was "spot on". She told me the crust was a little thick and not to be afraid to really smash it down when pressing it along the sides and bottom. It did puff up considerably as was mentioned by another reviewer. I am not South African and this was only my second time enjoying melktert and I thought it was wonderful. I know there are 1001 ways to make these with wide variance in crusts across recipes, but I particularly enjoyed the sweetness and crumble of the crust with the creamy custard. 5 stars for a reliable recipe with easy to follow and accurate instructions and a delicious result. Next time I may lightly butter or grease one of the pie plates to see how that goes. It was not impossible to get slices out cleanly, but it took some working at it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definitely make it again when someone special is pining for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
taste awesome, crust sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States