Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa Smith
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this according to the original recipe with 2% milk and it was delicious! Wonderful light creamy flavor and great consistency. The crust I baked 13 minutes and would have preferred 15-16 for a bit darker cookie crust but it was delicious and very sweet. It did not stick to my glass pans but I greased and floured them first. Great authentic recipe! Don't be afraid to press the crust thin, it puffs up well. Will definitely make these again! First time I've had this in over 10 years & just as good as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
It tastes amazing, but my crust puffed up really badly while in the oven and I had to press it back down by hand. Also, like another reviewer experienced, the crust wasn't as hard as I would've liked it to be. Perhaps I should've baked it for 20-25 minutes instead of 15, but the edges were already browning and I didn't want it to burn. Other than that though, it's a great recipe and it's amazing for getting rid of a large amount of milk that's expiring soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My South African partner and I were invited to a Braai and I made this recipe to take along. It was a real success to the point where no one believed I had made them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Just like I remember it when I was in Zim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe didn't specify how long to chill. It needs to chill for several hours. I made in the evening and kept checking my fridge, anticipating dessert time. It wasn't setting. It wasn't until next morning that it had finally set. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I brought this to a church gathering and everyone was wowed. Extremely delicious, with a soft sugar-cookie-like crust. The only thing I would warn about is that this recipe does not tell you to grease the bottom of the pie pans before pressing the dough in, which you NEED to do to prevent the crust from becoming cemented to the bottom of the pan (talking from experience).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnastasiaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Tasted delicious! I would adjust the crust next time. It was a little too crumbly/dry. I will either cut flour down or add a tsp milk to soften so I can make it into a dough and roll out. Was delicious nonetheless. Make sure to grease your pie plate first before putting in crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Crust is pretty sweet, so i cut down sugar. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
As far as milk tarts go, these are delicious. I divided the recipe in half and it made 18 delicious mini tarts in my mini muffin pan. I used leftover custard for pudding/custard pops and it was delicious! Do NOT add extra sugar to the custard; the sugar in the crust balances it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I cut it in half because we only had 2 cups of milk. The crust was amazing and I did what others had said and well greased the pie tin. I think next time I might use parchment paper to make it come out even easier. This is an excellent use of extra milk and eggs. I used raw whole milk with the cream still in it and it made a rich, flavorful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States