Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My South African partner and I were invited to a Braai and I made this recipe to take along. It was a real success to the point where no one believed I had made them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Just like I remember it when I was in Zim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe didn't specify how long to chill. It needs to chill for several hours. I made in the evening and kept checking my fridge, anticipating dessert time. It wasn't setting. It wasn't until next morning that it had finally set. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I brought this to a church gathering and everyone was wowed. Extremely delicious, with a soft sugar-cookie-like crust. The only thing I would warn about is that this recipe does not tell you to grease the bottom of the pie pans before pressing the dough in, which you NEED to do to prevent the crust from becoming cemented to the bottom of the pan (talking from experience).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnastasiaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Tasted delicious! I would adjust the crust next time. It was a little too crumbly/dry. I will either cut flour down or add a tsp milk to soften so I can make it into a dough and roll out. Was delicious nonetheless. Make sure to grease your pie plate first before putting in crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Crust is pretty sweet, so i cut down sugar. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
As far as milk tarts go, these are delicious. I divided the recipe in half and it made 18 delicious mini tarts in my mini muffin pan. I used leftover custard for pudding/custard pops and it was delicious! Do NOT add extra sugar to the custard; the sugar in the crust balances it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I cut it in half because we only had 2 cups of milk. The crust was amazing and I did what others had said and well greased the pie tin. I think next time I might use parchment paper to make it come out even easier. This is an excellent use of extra milk and eggs. I used raw whole milk with the cream still in it and it made a rich, flavorful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
realy good and for a first time it was excellent. but nexxt time i will use less base cause it was too think compared to the milk part. should have used the recommended baking tray but it was too late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Yum! A great recipe, however the crust was difficult. I pressed it into mini-muffin tins for mini-tarts. At the end of baking they had risen to completely fill the tins, so I pressed them down with the back of a coffee scoop. Then I had a heck of a time getting them out of the pan, even though they were greased. Only half of them could actually hold filling. The other half I crumbled into the bottom of a full pie pan. Can't say that any of them looked very pretty, but they are TASTY! My husband and I aren't really fans of traditional pie crusts but this cookie-like crust is awesome. Next time if I want mini tarts I'll just use muffin liners, and save time by not carefully shaping the dough before cooking--just press it down at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States