Milk Pie, Galatoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I did take the advice of one of the others who rated this and increased the sugar to 1 3/4 cups. I also increased the semolina (Cream of Wheat Cereal) to 3/4 cup, increased eggs to 5 and vanilla to 1 teaspoon. It was outstanding! (I actually combined 3 different recipes using this as the basic. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
It really had a good flavor and I received many compliments from people who had never eaten anything similar. I found that baking for 45 minutes was too long. I checked on it after 40 minutes and the filling looked a bit curdled and the top was pretty brown. I will check my oven temperature before making this again. If I find my oven is accurate, I will reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Made this recipe as stated, only I used 5 eggs plus increased the sugar from 200g to 250g and because I've not heard or ever seen "Phylo" dough (is it an American thing?), used Fillo pastry instead. Sweetness was just right - not bland or too sweet. The mixture turned out like custard, and tended to spill out when cutting up the pie. Maybe this has to do with using delicate Fillo pastry instead of dough? Overall, the taste was very good. I didn't make the sauce but just sprinkled the top with icing sugar which was ok. Next time I'll just be trying to make the mixture a bit more thick so it doesn't spill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Absolutely fantastic--best I've had since I was in Greece! The only thing I might try differently next time is to add a strip of orange rind to the syrup; this was how I learned to make it, along with a bit of orange zest added to the filling (scant teaspoon, no more). This is the recipe I lost 15 years ago--glad to have it back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I liked this but my husband and brother didn't. I think it's one of those love or hate recipes. I added more sugar. May make less next time if I'm the only one eating it. Darn, I was excited about this one. (FYI- I liked this way better cold. If you like custard or flan-like textures, you will probably like this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Wonderful, really authentic in flavor. Increase the sugar though for more Western tastes, I'd say increase it to 1 3/4 cups to 2 cups sugar if you plan on feeding it to people who didn't grow up eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! My boyfriend said that it was perhaps the best dessert I ever made. I made it exactly as stated except that I put the juice from the whole lemon in,instead of just half of a lemon. We ate it cold. The lemon was not overpowering, but just right. I was worried that the "syrup"on top would be too watery and ruin it, but it was exactly perfect. Without it, the recipe would not have been so good. I am going to make it for our upcoming Easter dessert for two dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
great and easy recipie to make ..came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! I added a 5th egg and put 1 tsp of butter. I also did not have an 8x13 pan so I put in an 8x8. For the sheets I used puff pastry since it was the only one I could find :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I added all the ingredients for the custard together and used my silicone whisk continuously until it was cooked, saved a lot of time and avoided curdling of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States