Milk Chocolate Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
A nice easy recipe that has lots of flavor. I messed up a bit and used semi-sweet chocolate as it came in mint flavor. I think it would better with the milk chocolate. I used small candy canes which were a pain to unwrap, but I think when crushed they looked a bit more colorful than the big canes would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Good ratios of ingredients. I used Ghirardelli milk and white choc chips, and it tastes almost identical to their peppermint bark squares (which I tasted at Disney and couldn't afford!) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The peppermint extract will cause the white chocolate to seize up - you need to use oil-based flavors especially for candy-makers. I read on another site that this needs to be made with good quality chocolate for the layers to adhere. I used a combination of Nestle's chips and a store brand (make sure it contains cocoa butter) and had no problems. Save some of the candy cane bits to sprinkle in top for color. You need to press them in. Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Was really easy to make and my friends/family couldn't stop eating it!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zebracupcake15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe and melted the chocolate, it was perfect. I used Milk Chocolate Chipits. When I added the extract (Club House Pure Mint & Peppermint Extract), the chocolate clumped right up and I couldn't save it. I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this at Christmas time and totally forgot to rate it. I normally do some sort of peppermint bark at Christmas and decided this year to do it this way. It was easy, set up great. It looked so pretty when I had all the pieces chucked and in little pretty gift bags. This recipe is soo easy. And it's totally hard to make a flop with this, unless you dropped it on the floor in the making process. LOL. But do give this easy, tasty and simple recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I followed the directions EXACTLY and when I went to break the bark into pieces the two layers separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this with 1 bag of milk chocolate chips and a bag of andes mint chocolate chips for the bottom layer and for the top layer used 1 bag of white chocolate chips and a bag of andes mint peppermint chips. The top layer ended up being pink and it cooled really fast so I had to keep reheating it becasue I poured it into moulds. I used a small sauce pan to boil water and put a medium/large ceramic bowl over it to melt the chocolate in, it worked better than the microwave melting and the chocolate never got scalding hot so it cooled really quickly. It was so minty that it didn't really even need the 36 smashed up mini candy canes, but it is awesome. Everyone is eating it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've made this four times this week and taken it to work only to come home with an empty tin . I didnt have a problem with the two layers sticking together when I broke it like some did . I did use ghardelli chocolate but be wear the white chocolate chip bag is only 11 ounces . I'll be making plenty more of this for every ocassion !! Update I sent this back home for a friends Christmas Party and they said its even better then the Gharadelli Peppermint Bark you can buy !! I'll be making another three pans when I get home for our Christmas potluck at work :) PS I had no problems with the layers staying together when I broke the bark and I didnt add peppermint to the white chocolate but to the milk chocolate as per the instructions .. LOVE LOVE LOVE !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Ive made this several times in the past week...its a wonderful addition to my holiday treats!!! I wouldnt change a thing...thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States