Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This has become one of my favorite cookie recipes. A variation I've used (and really like) is dark chocolate in place of the milk chocolate. Keep a close eye on the color while baking - they brown up at once and should not be overcooked. I typically use convection baking at 350 for 7 minutes then watch them constantly until light golden across the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I love these cookies. They are always the ones people request. However, I find that they are better crispier (and easier to peel off the foil). Leave them in the oven 10 minutes instead of five to seven. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My mom requested these for her birthday this year because they are so good. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips for the spread (using milk chocolate chips in previous years have caused the response, "they're too sweet"). Turned out fantastic! Definitely make sure to grease the foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akroman
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I was so excited with how these turned out. They are a really elegant looking cookie and quite unique. I’m definitely going to make these for gifts and such since they make a pretty presentation and it’s something that will stand out from the usual butter/sugar/spritz/chocolate chip cookies. They look like something you’d have to get at a specialty bakery and are very yummy. Because I like chocolate, I made one change to the recipe and that is I added two Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder. I took a chance and added the cocoa the first time I made them since there was a comment that this recipe was too sweet. I figured the cocoa would be a good counter to the sweetness and I like dark chocolate anyway. On my opinion, it was a very tasty move. I always enjoy reading helpful hints from other’s reviews, so I hope someone else will find this suggestion useful. Next time I make these, I think I will use special candy making chocolate (the kind that hardens back) so that the cookies are less messy. (Although melted chocolate on your hands isn’t all that bad a thing!) I prefer dark chocolate so that's what I used. I also used parchment paper, but I imagine release foil would work just as well. I agree with other’s suggestions about the cooking time. I made a few trays crispy and a few chewy, both were great. Just pay attention to the level teaspoon of batter and the space on the cookie sheet or else you get a giant blob of stuck together cookies. Ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I LOVE these cookies! They are SO good. I always bake them for events, and people are always asking for more. If I don't bring them people are disappointed and ask why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These were really good. I added about 1/2 cup of slivered almonds and baked for 8 minutes. I also used semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk. I recommend flattening the cookie a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is a excellent cookie. Pretty easy to make. I omit the chocolate, they taste great without it. An alternative for using aluminum foil is a silicone cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are sooo good - like a more elegant version of oatmeal chocolate chip. I think the crispiness is just preference. My family prefers chewy..so I only bake them about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These cookies are amazing and have received rave reviews every time I made them! I recommend them for bakesales and cookie exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Unbelievable! I saw the ingredients and was skeptical. I mixed the batter and was VERY skeptical. I took them out of the oven, hmm... could have something here. Once I put it together I was amazed at the results. Florentine (lace) cookies were a luxury when I was a child. This recipe takes some of the least expensive ingredients and makes a wonderful copy of those expensive cookies. I followed the directions exactly, except for cooking them a few minutes longer. I would suggest using your finest chocolate and you can pass these off as fancy, gourmet cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States