Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Unbelievable! I saw the ingredients and was skeptical. I mixed the batter and was VERY skeptical. I took them out of the oven, hmm... could have something here. Once I put it together I was amazed at the results. Florentine (lace) cookies were a luxury when I was a child. This recipe takes some of the least expensive ingredients and makes a wonderful copy of those expensive cookies. I followed the directions exactly, except for cooking them a few minutes longer. I would suggest using your finest chocolate and you can pass these off as fancy, gourmet cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T, but they didn't come out anything like they should have. I read carefully the reviews and made sure that I didn't under or over cook them. I was careful to use only the spoonful and set them apart so that, according to one review, they didn't spread all over and make one big goo. Mine didn't spread at all; as a matter of fact, when I check on them I realized that I would have to flatten them or they would still be the shape as they came off the spoon. Also, they made only 26 single cookies (13 "sandwiches) not any where near 42!! As I realized I was not going to get that many, I reduced the chips to 1 cup and it was still way to much for the amount of cookes I got. My husband said they tasted OK; but they weren't even close to the "elegant" cookie in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
i did not care for this cookie, it was too sweet, and some of the cookies got dark brown and were hard to eat some on the same pan were soft and sticky and oily and gross! then when i added the choclate it just made my teeth ache. I won't be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These cookies are excellent and much easier to make than one would imagine. For the spreading chocolate I melted the chocolate I use in my chocolate fountain. It hardens at room temperature, requires no tempering and the brand I use is pure chocolate. This recipe is going definitely going into my "favorites" folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
this was really really yum...everyone who tasted it said..woww this is really made from oats?? it really taste likke caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These cookies were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Excellent cookies, I have been making these for years and they are very popular. I definitely recommend using parchment as the foil seems to stick. Also, I find if you roll the batter into small balls and then spread them onto to parchment paper using a spatula that has been sprayed with cooking spray - I get a much better looking and consistent shaped cookie. Make sure you give your self a few hours to make these, they are a bit of work and can be time consuming, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Strandberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These take a bit of work, but they're worth it in the end. I've been told by several people that they're the first to disappear from assorted cookie trays I've given. I guess that's good, because they don't keep well for very long before they get chewy instead of crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I LOVE these cookies! They are SO good. I always bake them for events, and people are always asking for more. If I don't bring them people are disappointed and ask why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akroman
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I was so excited with how these turned out. They are a really elegant looking cookie and quite unique. I’m definitely going to make these for gifts and such since they make a pretty presentation and it’s something that will stand out from the usual butter/sugar/spritz/chocolate chip cookies. They look like something you’d have to get at a specialty bakery and are very yummy. Because I like chocolate, I made one change to the recipe and that is I added two Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder. I took a chance and added the cocoa the first time I made them since there was a comment that this recipe was too sweet. I figured the cocoa would be a good counter to the sweetness and I like dark chocolate anyway. On my opinion, it was a very tasty move. I always enjoy reading helpful hints from other’s reviews, so I hope someone else will find this suggestion useful. Next time I make these, I think I will use special candy making chocolate (the kind that hardens back) so that the cookies are less messy. (Although melted chocolate on your hands isn’t all that bad a thing!) I prefer dark chocolate so that's what I used. I also used parchment paper, but I imagine release foil would work just as well. I agree with other’s suggestions about the cooking time. I made a few trays crispy and a few chewy, both were great. Just pay attention to the level teaspoon of batter and the space on the cookie sheet or else you get a giant blob of stuck together cookies. Ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States