Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I'd been looking all over for a cookie that is like this, thin & crisp, but also chewy.... I finally found it... it's called a "Oatmeal Lace Cookie". ... so if that's you, just wanted to help you out... that's what it's called.. .or if you wanted this kind of cookie w/ out all the additions (plainer version) ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Do not use wax paper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I did not care for these at all, I am sad to say. Even with heavily greased foil (and in a second attempt, a heavily greased nonstick cookie sheet), these cookies were quite difficult to get off the foil / pan (I tried removing them immediately after coming out of the over). To be fair, several of the cookies did come off the pan / foil with only partially broken edges, but to me, any breakage is unacceptable. I bake constantly and have never had this much trouble removing cookies from a pan. I think another reviewer mentioned "chiseling" them off ... sounds about right to me. I tried cooking them for 5-7 minutes, then 10 minutes as per other reviews. Neither time really yielded a good cookie. I was looking for something thin, crispy, buttery and delicate. These ended up being chewy, candy-like, brittle, and fragile. I really had high expectations for these cookies, and I am by no means a novice when it comes to baking. Sorry, these were not at all what I wanted, and I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
choose to make these cookies for the first cookies i've ever made from scratch. turned out successfully! highly HIGHLY recommended recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I use parchment paper as it is very tricky getting it off foil it there is not enough pam on the pan. I still spray with pam when done I slide the parchment off the cookie sheet to cool and put another piece of parchment paper sprayed well that way I rotate them in and out quickly. I also use Ghirardelli double chocolate instead of milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
One of my favorite cookies. I found this in a Nestle Tollhouse best- loved cookies booklet. Very little variation. I can't speak for this cookie but the Toll House version is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was so very excited to find this recipe - my daughter and I bought a florentine cookie the other night to share (it had a 6" diameter!). I was telling her that I used to make them and that I would look up the recipe - This is it - the exact recipe I used to make - Yea! I am going to make this next week for work - and my daughter and I are going to make these for us (= *edit* Made these yesterday - just as good as I remember . . . They are more time consuming than I usually take on (time is a precious comodity!). I had to do one pan at a time, only ten cookies per pan (I did double it - that's on me (= ), I used parchment paper, which worked well. Eight minutes worked perfectly in my oven . . . One of my doctors told me this is the best thing I've ever brought in =D Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made similar cookies 5 years ago and lost the recipe. I was so happy to have found this one!!! The previous reviewer must have left out the sugar...I know because I did by mistake the first time and they looked just like regular oatmeal cookies and it only made 24. Made them again and they were perfect. I used semi-sweet chocolate for half and buttercream filling for half. Very good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
these cookies are more like candy than cookies but they are still wonderful and different. I used non stick foil on a cookie sheet which eliminated the need for greasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Just got done making these cookies, they are extremely tasty. Next batch will be in for less time since I prefer mine to be a little more soft. Can't wait until my fam tries these on Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States