Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Awesome cookie for those with nut allergies! The cookie halves can be frozen (carefully between layers of wax paper) and the melted chocolate added later to the defrosted cookies when making the "sandwiches".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Although the taste was wonderful, I was disappointed in the consistency of these cookies. When I think of Florentine cookies, I think of thin, lacy cookies. These were definitely not them. Perhaps more liquid is needed to make them flatten/melt as you cook them? Per another review, I had to flatten them with a spatula. If not, they were the same size as when they went in. Way too thick for Florentine and way way too thick to sandwich together, so I just drizzled chocolate over the top of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
meh - they were not quite what I expected - I was thinking these were italian lace cookies. maybe next time I'll add some almond extract. But my friends liked them and they were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used the parchment paper, no problem peeling the cookies apart! Another tip is to drop by dime size, rather than teaspoonfuls, they really stretch out. I placed them, then covered with a small piece of parchment paper, just to flatten it out with my thumb. Chocolate took a long time to harden, so placed in the fridge for a while. Really good cookies, nice and crispy when cooked for 8-9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These cookies were pretty easy to make, however it is time consuming waiting for the cookies to cool completely so that you can take them off the foil to smear chocolate. I used milk chocolate and they were sweet maybe I will try semi sweet chocolate with the remaining mix. I did think the cookies were good, would be much better with maybe chunks of chocolate and nuts in it. I did think it was lacking something, I enjoyed the crunch but they just wasn't one of the best cookies I have ever tasted. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Ok so I have made these several times and they are all the rave everywhere I go. I have LOTS of notes though. First, chill the dough. Then roll into dime size peices and put on a baking sheet lined with foil and greased heavily with pam. Watch them when you bake them. They really take no time at all. Since they are smaller this way (about the size of a clementine when done) this way, they cook faster. Depending on how done you like them they can take 5 mintues or less. Let them cool SLIGHTLY when you take them out. You want to peal them off before they are cool so they do not break. Set the cookies asside. the milk Chocolate it NOT GOOD with these. Everyone I have made them for has prefered white chocolate with them. Milk is just too sweet and dark tastest like coffee. If you like that go ahead, but my many reviews say white chocolate is the best. The thing with these cookies is you have to move FAST. They are great if you do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe I have been making for years - we make them thin - after putting a half teaspoon on sheet, wet your finger and pat it down. They crisp more evenly. Also, you can use silicon baking mats (I spray them lightly with cooking spray) instead of foil or parchment and they slip right off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I'm a good cook and baker. I followed this recipe the the "T". They did not look anything like this photo of perfectly round small cookies. Mine melted and pretty much stuck together. I didn't really think they tasted all that great either. What a bummer, I was so worked up by some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I loooove these cookies! One of my favorites from the Italian bakery :) Couple of suggestions to make them perfect: Use parchment paper. These are pretty sticky. I was using my fancy pants thicker aluminum cookie sheets and they weren't cooking/spreading fast enough. Switched to my flimsy cheap nonstick cookie sheet (still with parchment) and viola! Perfect browning on the edge and reduced cook time. Use a little more than the recommended teaspoon. In the bakeries these aren't so "holey" and are a satisfyingly sweet and sticky cookie. Lastly, give them a little smoosh before baking since they don't spread enough on their own to make a flat thin cookie. Don't flatten them completely, but don't leave them as round balls either. Thanks for the recipe! This NY'er has Italian cookie fever in MN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States