Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I love these cookies. They are always the ones people request. However, I find that they are better crispier (and easier to peel off the foil). Leave them in the oven 10 minutes instead of five to seven. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akroman
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I was so excited with how these turned out. They are a really elegant looking cookie and quite unique. I’m definitely going to make these for gifts and such since they make a pretty presentation and it’s something that will stand out from the usual butter/sugar/spritz/chocolate chip cookies. They look like something you’d have to get at a specialty bakery and are very yummy. Because I like chocolate, I made one change to the recipe and that is I added two Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder. I took a chance and added the cocoa the first time I made them since there was a comment that this recipe was too sweet. I figured the cocoa would be a good counter to the sweetness and I like dark chocolate anyway. On my opinion, it was a very tasty move. I always enjoy reading helpful hints from other’s reviews, so I hope someone else will find this suggestion useful. Next time I make these, I think I will use special candy making chocolate (the kind that hardens back) so that the cookies are less messy. (Although melted chocolate on your hands isn’t all that bad a thing!) I prefer dark chocolate so that's what I used. I also used parchment paper, but I imagine release foil would work just as well. I agree with other’s suggestions about the cooking time. I made a few trays crispy and a few chewy, both were great. Just pay attention to the level teaspoon of batter and the space on the cookie sheet or else you get a giant blob of stuck together cookies. Ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Excellent cookies, I have been making these for years and they are very popular. I definitely recommend using parchment as the foil seems to stick. Also, I find if you roll the batter into small balls and then spread them onto to parchment paper using a spatula that has been sprayed with cooking spray - I get a much better looking and consistent shaped cookie. Make sure you give your self a few hours to make these, they are a bit of work and can be time consuming, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Strandberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This has become one of my favorite cookie recipes. A variation I've used (and really like) is dark chocolate in place of the milk chocolate. Keep a close eye on the color while baking - they brown up at once and should not be overcooked. I typically use convection baking at 350 for 7 minutes then watch them constantly until light golden across the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I loooove these cookies! One of my favorites from the Italian bakery :) Couple of suggestions to make them perfect: Use parchment paper. These are pretty sticky. I was using my fancy pants thicker aluminum cookie sheets and they weren't cooking/spreading fast enough. Switched to my flimsy cheap nonstick cookie sheet (still with parchment) and viola! Perfect browning on the edge and reduced cook time. Use a little more than the recommended teaspoon. In the bakeries these aren't so "holey" and are a satisfyingly sweet and sticky cookie. Lastly, give them a little smoosh before baking since they don't spread enough on their own to make a flat thin cookie. Don't flatten them completely, but don't leave them as round balls either. Thanks for the recipe! This NY'er has Italian cookie fever in MN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was so very excited to find this recipe - my daughter and I bought a florentine cookie the other night to share (it had a 6" diameter!). I was telling her that I used to make them and that I would look up the recipe - This is it - the exact recipe I used to make - Yea! I am going to make this next week for work - and my daughter and I are going to make these for us (= *edit* Made these yesterday - just as good as I remember . . . They are more time consuming than I usually take on (time is a precious comodity!). I had to do one pan at a time, only ten cookies per pan (I did double it - that's on me (= ), I used parchment paper, which worked well. Eight minutes worked perfectly in my oven . . . One of my doctors told me this is the best thing I've ever brought in =D Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These were really good. I added about 1/2 cup of slivered almonds and baked for 8 minutes. I also used semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk. I recommend flattening the cookie a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is very good and sugary! Using parchment paper is the best way to line the pans. I spread chocolate on top of each individual cookie instead of sandwiching the cookie. I agree though, they are best when crispy and should be cooked for 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My mom requested these for her birthday this year because they are so good. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips for the spread (using milk chocolate chips in previous years have caused the response, "they're too sweet"). Turned out fantastic! Definitely make sure to grease the foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Not exactly the recipe I was looking for, but delicious just the same. Make sure to follow the recipe exactly, especially when it comes to the size of the cookies. Mine came out a little on the large size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States