Milk Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I like the recipe - great flavor and texture. I added about half white whole-wheat flour in place of half of the white and substituted bread flour for the other half, otherwise exactly the same proportions with the exception of a tad of water b/c the dough was too dry. However, I would like to address the "sinking" or collapsing bread that others have discussed in their reviews. I have burned out 2 bread machines and am on my third and have discovered that each machine is different. The reason bread collapses is because the rising cycle is too long, creating an over-inflated loaf. If your bread machine is guilty of this, see if you can change to a different setting to shorten the rising time. Otherwise my best suggestion is to use the "dough" cycle of the bread machine, then take it out and bake it in your own oven using a bread pan or free-form loaf. Maybe 375 for about 30 minutes for this size loaf would work. You will know if the bread has a hollow sound when tapped on the bottom. Internal temp of about 190 if you're inclined to use a thermometer. Mine collapsed, but next time I will do the dough cycle and bake it in the oven to see if that is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is one of the tastiest loaves I have ever made. Had to add a couple of extra TBSP milk and I prefer to use the dough setting and bake in the oven otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Sooooo good! This has become my new go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have a new Cuisinart bread maker and have been looking for a perfect, everyday bread recipe for my family. This recipe was probably the 10th one I had tried and it didn't last a day! My family asked that I only make this one from now on and everytimem they'd hear the machine going for the next month they'd double check with me to make sure I wasn't trying something different. I did try another reviewer's suggestion of heating the milk and mixing the yeast in to proof for 10 minutes, then I read on my bread machine yeast that you're never to let it touch liquids so I tried it the traditional way of layering ingredients per the machine's instructions and both ways worked but I do believe that the 2nd version turned out a better loaf. I think sometimes the issue that people have with recipes, especially ones this simple are either a low functioning machine or lower quality ingredients. The only time this has turned out less than stellar for me is when I subbed in some wheat flour and didn't set it on the wheat bread setting. I use King Arthur brand flour, Fleishmann's bread machine yeast, Zulca Marena sugar, Kosher salt and Braum's milk (which isn't available everywhere), point being that a better quality ingredient with almost always turn out a better quality item unless there is a flaw somewhere in the recipe. IF you're a budget shopper it may be harder to spend a little more but in our case, this is the only bread we eat so it's worth a few $$ more to get it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made this 3 times and ended up with 3 boat anchors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used honey rather than refined sugar. The bread was absolutely beautiful and delicious. I used the white bread setting on my bread machine that doesn't adjust the timer less than 3 hours, so I just set the oven timer for 2.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetng
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is my first bread and I mainly followed the hold recipes. However, after go though the reviews, I also added extra milk(about 10ml) and a small piece of salted butter (get a wrong one in supermarket). I use 1 tea spoon quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was lovely bread my boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I just bought a new bread machine 2 days ago. The first loaf I made was this recipe. It turned out great. I read alot of reviews about the bread sinking. I was so afraid mine would too. I don't know what I did, but the loaf was perfect. My husband ate 2 slices as soon as it cooled. I will be making this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very yummy! I live in a very humid place so the dough was quite sticky. I added a little extra flour as it was mixing but it still fell and came out looking like minecraft bread. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read all the reviews before baking this bread. Unfortunately I am in the camp of those who had their bread fall flat. I will not be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States