Milk Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I don't have bread machine. Have anyone tried this recipe with traditional way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yushih

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have a new Cuisinart bread maker and have been looking for a perfect, everyday bread recipe for my family. This recipe was probably the 10th one I had tried and it didn't last a day! My family asked that I only make this one from now on and everytimem they'd hear the machine going for the next month they'd double check with me to make sure I wasn't trying something different. I did try another reviewer's suggestion of heating the milk and mixing the yeast in to proof for 10 minutes, then I read on my bread machine yeast that you're never to let it touch liquids so I tried it the traditional way of layering ingredients per the machine's instructions and both ways worked but I do believe that the 2nd version turned out a better loaf. I think sometimes the issue that people have with recipes, especially ones this simple are either a low functioning machine or lower quality ingredients. The only time this has turned out less than stellar for me is when I subbed in some wheat flour and didn't set it on the wheat bread setting. I use King Arthur brand flour, Fleishmann's bread machine yeast, Zulca Marena sugar, Kosher salt and Braum's milk (which isn't available everywhere), point being that a better quality ingredient with almost always turn out a better quality item unless there is a flaw somewhere in the recipe. IF you're a budget shopper it may be harder to spend a little more but in our case, this is the only bread we eat so it's worth a few $$ more to get it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made this 3 times and ended up with 3 boat anchors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used honey rather than refined sugar. The bread was absolutely beautiful and delicious. I used the white bread setting on my bread machine that doesn't adjust the timer less than 3 hours, so I just set the oven timer for 2.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetng
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is my first bread and I mainly followed the hold recipes. However, after go though the reviews, I also added extra milk(about 10ml) and a small piece of salted butter (get a wrong one in supermarket). I use 1 tea spoon quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was lovely bread my boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I just bought a new bread machine 2 days ago. The first loaf I made was this recipe. It turned out great. I read alot of reviews about the bread sinking. I was so afraid mine would too. I don't know what I did, but the loaf was perfect. My husband ate 2 slices as soon as it cooled. I will be making this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very yummy! I live in a very humid place so the dough was quite sticky. I added a little extra flour as it was mixing but it still fell and came out looking like minecraft bread. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read all the reviews before baking this bread. Unfortunately I am in the camp of those who had their bread fall flat. I will not be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very simple, soft white bread that made hubs happy. He prefers softer breads, and this fit the bill. I had to add more liquid, so I added 1 1/4 cups milk for each loaf (I doubled this recipe) and the consistency was slightly dry even then, so it probably does need adjusting most times. I usually make the dough in the bread machine, then bake it--we just prefer the crust that way in this house. I baked at 40 mins for 350 and it was a perfect consistency for my husband's taste. This is just a basic bread, so if you want more flavor, you'll have to add spices or add ins like dried fruit or nuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States