Milk Braised Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
very interesting recipe, Ken. I used 1/2 the salt-personal taste. After browning the pork loin I set it in the slow cooker. I poured milk into the pan to heat and slowly cooked off the tasty bits of meat that stuck to the pan. The milk made me leary when it was time to make the gravy but I strained the liquid and it was fairly clear. I sauteed some onion, added the liquid, thickened it with corn starch and flour. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is to die for. You need to try it! I'm going to cut the salt in half next time though -- we could only eat tiny portions of the wonderful brown kernel sauce because the salt was just too much for us. We do tend to be low-sodium kinda people, though, I guess the low sodium diet has finally succeeded in changing our tastebuds! This smells so divine and looks like you slaved for hours, when really, you just prepped it and left it for a few hours! Thanks for the recipe, Ken, I'm sure we'll have this again! (To those who wound up with dry meat -- you need to use a deep pot, so that the meat is swimming in as deep a milk mixture as you can get. I also turned my roast (using tongs!) halfway through to keep the top from getting too dry.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Really good. I used pork chops and everything was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it just didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I've made this with both chops and roasts, we(my family) loved both but did prefer the roast. The only change I made was making more sauce, only because it is so so good. Great recipe...you gotta try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Flavor was good but I cooked for 1 1/2 hours and it came out too dry. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Can't wait to try this pork receipe.We love pork and this receipe looks so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Thanks, Ken for showing me pork doesn't have to be greasy, dry and flavorless. Recipes like this are changing this non pork eater into a convert. I had to make a few adaptations to suit our needs. I used extra thick cut center loin chops, that worked out just fine. Then, I realized I only buy skim milk so I mixed it 50-50 with half and half. That worked out fine too. The kitchen smelled great, the meat was moist and tender and the milk curdled itself up into the most amazing little bursts of flavor. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used 2% milk and this turned out great - don't over salt your pork or the sauce will be salty (I didn't measure the salt and it was a tad salty but not too much). Since I didn't allow my picky kids to eat this with ketchup they tried the sauce and all but the 3 year old liked it. Thanks Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wonderful, easy concept of cooking a pork loin and tasty gravy all in one pot. I always know when a recipe's a keeper when I watch my husband's face after the first bite, and see his eyebrows raise up in approval. He commented on the tenderness of the chops and tasty gravy. (I checked with Ken about using extra thick pork loin chops a/o that's what I had in the freezer. They worked just fine.) We like bold, savory flavors so in addition to 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary, I added 1/2 tsp each of sage and thyme. Very nice, Ken. Well done. Cathy in CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States