Milk Braised Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a hit here. I thought it had a nice herby flavor with the thyme and was a very homey comfort type food. I used double the black pepper, twice the butter and skipped the veg oil, used 2% milk and dried rosemary and tossed in a couple of bay leaves because I have to tweak. It's an obsession, can't help it :) The milk sauce separated and wasn't really a sauce and never got another color besides light golden and looked like it needed straining but no matter as the husband took a bite, declared it very good and then said it would perfect with egg noodles, and specifically asked me to make this like "chicken and noodles". I looked in my pantry, found 2 packages of opened dried egg noodles and tossed them into the pot, and the meat just sort of fell apart, and hubby was very pleased with his pork and noodle dinner. (WaHoo for using up leftover bits from the cupboard!!!) Thanks Ken, my man is very happy now and loved his meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I would never make this again. It was way too dry and the sauce was curdled. Nonetheless, it tasted pretty good and my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Ken from CA knows pork!! This was fantastic, imaginative and super tasty. A new taste sensation for my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have to admit, reading some of the reviews of "curdled bites that pop in your mouth" had me a little hesitant to try this. My sauce was not as pretty as the pictures but the overall taste was very good. Ken had recommended I try this recipe a long time ago when I complained on the recipe buzz that I had some pieces of very dry pork loin. This did the trick. The pork was moist and flavorful. I will make it again and try to get a prettier outcome. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I am glad I tried this recipe but found that it just wasn't for me. It was too salty and the meat turned out dry. I did like the 'milk curds' but again...too saltly. I prefer more seasonings. Interesting recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Moist, tender, flavorful ...a whole new cooking method for me; We love pork, but I do not like "dry" pork roast. This recipe is very easy and basically foolproof. I followed the recipe exactly; also followed your suggestions given under the Reviews, below. (Yes, we used a pork loin roast, not tenderloin.) The "cooked down nutty brown savory kernels" made its own BEST-tasting gravy "as is" without having to add a single thing! -- Using chopped fresh rosemary was also essential; adds a subtle flavor! Thank you Ken from CA! I am happy to have your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
very interesting recipe, Ken. I used 1/2 the salt-personal taste. After browning the pork loin I set it in the slow cooker. I poured milk into the pan to heat and slowly cooked off the tasty bits of meat that stuck to the pan. The milk made me leary when it was time to make the gravy but I strained the liquid and it was fairly clear. I sauteed some onion, added the liquid, thickened it with corn starch and flour. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is to die for. You need to try it! I'm going to cut the salt in half next time though -- we could only eat tiny portions of the wonderful brown kernel sauce because the salt was just too much for us. We do tend to be low-sodium kinda people, though, I guess the low sodium diet has finally succeeded in changing our tastebuds! This smells so divine and looks like you slaved for hours, when really, you just prepped it and left it for a few hours! Thanks for the recipe, Ken, I'm sure we'll have this again! (To those who wound up with dry meat -- you need to use a deep pot, so that the meat is swimming in as deep a milk mixture as you can get. I also turned my roast (using tongs!) halfway through to keep the top from getting too dry.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Really good. I used pork chops and everything was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it just didn't go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States