Mile-High Peanut Butter-Brownie Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made 5 pies for Thanksgiving this year, and this one was by far the most popular. It is so delicious. I had to add more water to the brownie mix, and it ended up being very thick brownie, but then I realized later my brownie packages were more than 15.5 oz so next time I know to adjust to the size of the mix. I doubled the peanut butter chips as well as the peanut butter in the topping because things never have enough peanut butter for my husbands tastes if I don't. For those who are a little less in love with peanut butter than he is, I'd recommend sticking with the recipe. This is definitely one of my favorite pie recipes and one I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I used mini Reeses cups, chopped, in the brownie mix. Next time I'll use real whipped cream. This pie was the hit of the holiday, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was very good! It was easy to make. It's very rich tasting, so small pieces are best. One caution...I did not make it in a glass pie pan as directed (I didn't have one). I found that I cooked the brownie much longer than suggested because my cake tester did not come out clean after the recommended time. This, however, made my brownie a bit hard. The taste was still good, but I will cook it less next time and take it out before the cake tester comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I don't think I will be making this very often - because I could have ate the whole darn pie myself! Oh my! This one is a keeper. Followed the recipe exactly. It came out perfect and was firm enought to cut into small pieces which was necessary because it is very rich. I read the other reviews and wished I had used chopped up peanut butter cups too. If cutting the pie when it is cold it is hard to cut - let it sit out for a bit and it makes cutting much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I absolutly loved making this and I brought this to a dinner party, it was all gone!!!! Definatly saving this and making it for my family holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this for a birthday party and it was SO good, but incredibly rich. I have a deep hatred for cool whip so I subbed homemade whipped cream- according to what I found about 3 cups of whipped cream is equivalent to an 8oz container of cool whip but I just did it by taste. I also skipped the chopped peanuts and chocolate chips in favor of chopped mini reese's cups. So good! [Update: I made this again, without the brownie, and it was just as good- more of a mousse.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used my own, homemade pie crust recipe, since the packaged products all seem to have lard. I also substituted 6 oz real whipping cream instead of the artificial whipped topping. The real thing tastes so much better! Any brownie recipe that can be baked in an 8x8 pan will work, and if I couldn't find peanut butter chips, I might use mini Reese's cups or break up a toffee bar like Heath's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
You can't go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States