Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Nearly like my recipe. I never use tomotillos, I like to keep it all green chilis. I'd add 3 poblanos instead of the tomotillos. -- Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to mine. Serve in a bowl with fresh flour tortillas or use to smother your favorite TEX MEX recipes. For those of us in Colorado & New Mexico the green chiles are in, available freshly roasted & ready to bag, freeze & enjoy for the next 12 months. They should be around thru mid September or until the supply is exhausted. Or drive to the lanes east of Pueblo & buy them directly from the farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AHHH-mazing! I live in Colorado and have had some darn good green chili, but WOW. I used approximately 20 fresh roasted green chillies and zero tomatillos. I took cupfuls of the chili and put it in the blender to get more of a uniform looking dish. I will be making this again, and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is the authentic recipe I was looking for, none of the others get it!! Love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was so good, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I made this chili for a chili cook off at work and got disqualified. Everyone loved it and finished it off, but because it had no beans they said it wasn't chili, I didn't even attempt to argue. It is wonderful and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
W0W! Seriously good Green Chili!!! I did not know what a Tomatillo was and was glad to find it right next to the Anaheim peppers at the grocery store. Only thing I would change is to DOUBLE the batch, we were sad when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Made this at the weekend along with some Jalapeno party poppers. Both were fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopCat247

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent green chili. I'm a CO native and this is in the top 5 green chili's that I have had in my life. I made it for my wedding shower which was a potluck style bbq in the fall. It was a HUGE hit. I would omit the cream cheese though, it's not necessary and I think it actually takes away from the authenticity. Maybe a dollop of sour cream is all it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is the best version of green chili I have come across. It is amazingly flavorful, spicy but not too spicy. Just the right amount of heat, and pretty easy to make. I made substitutions with what i had on hand- used about 8 tomatillos, 2 lg. poblanos, and 6 jalapenos, no bell pepper and forgot the cream cheese. I also blended the roasted veggies then added to pork in slow cooker....Delicious. I think the beer really rounds out the flavors. Will make again and again! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States