Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Nearly like my recipe. I never use tomotillos, I like to keep it all green chilis. I'd add 3 poblanos instead of the tomotillos. -- Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to mine. Serve in a bowl with fresh flour tortillas or use to smother your favorite TEX MEX recipes. For those of us in Colorado & New Mexico the green chiles are in, available freshly roasted & ready to bag, freeze & enjoy for the next 12 months. They should be around thru mid September or until the supply is exhausted. Or drive to the lanes east of Pueblo & buy them directly from the farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AHHH-mazing! I live in Colorado and have had some darn good green chili, but WOW. I used approximately 20 fresh roasted green chillies and zero tomatillos. I took cupfuls of the chili and put it in the blender to get more of a uniform looking dish. I will be making this again, and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE! I'm a Boulder Born - and - Bred gal and I've had great green chili but this is the first time I made it myself and I love it! It's the kind of recipe where you can make any adjustments you need to based on what's in your pantry and it STILL comes out awesome. I will save this for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I did revise it; some changes were based on ingredient availability and some were based on preferences. Added: 2 large poblanos, more tomatillos, whole onion, couple pounds cubed pork roast, couple shakes adobo seasoning, and canned roasted hatch chiles. Omitted: Anaheims (not available), green bell pepper, beef bouillon cube, chili powder, and cream cheese. When ready to serve, I dolloped Mexican crema on top and we ate with warm corn tortillas. Because I probably doubled the recipe (this will not serve 8 as written unless the servings are tiny!), we have leftovers, and I plan to use over cheese enchiladas tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My husband and I grew up in Colorado and LOVE green chili. This was really good, but not as good as my father-in-laws recipe (hence 4 stars). I made it in a pressure cooker (25 min/15 lb pressure). We didn't add the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is the authentic recipe I was looking for, none of the others get it!! Love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really good for a easy Green Chili but I felt the cream cheese took away some of the punch. I've made it a couple times, one of the times I added 1 cup of shredded chicken, more peppers and just a touch of the cream cheese----awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I like more tomatillos than suggested so I doubled the amount and added some cilantro. I forgot to buy cream cheese so I added sour cream but will try with cream cheese next time. Overall this was an absolutely delicious meal! It did not make 8 servings- more like 5 (3/4 filled normal size bowls). I suppose it could be stretched to 8 if served over rice. Additional notes: after sitting for 2 days we realized that the tomatillo was overwhelming in the dish. next time I will try the recipe as is and update again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi n Brian Maxwell (Buckles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very YUMMY!! Great flavor, spicy but not too hot. I think next time I will double the tomatillos but that’s just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States