Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I did revise it; some changes were based on ingredient availability and some were based on preferences. Added: 2 large poblanos, more tomatillos, whole onion, couple pounds cubed pork roast, couple shakes adobo seasoning, and canned roasted hatch chiles. Omitted: Anaheims (not available), green bell pepper, beef bouillon cube, chili powder, and cream cheese. When ready to serve, I dolloped Mexican crema on top and we ate with warm corn tortillas. Because I probably doubled the recipe (this will not serve 8 as written unless the servings are tiny!), we have leftovers, and I plan to use over cheese enchiladas tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this for a fall picnic. Big hit! The flavor is absolutely delicious, very complex and savory. I seeded the jalapenos, and there was not even a hint of heat in the finished dish. I think I will leave some seeds in next time. I did add the cream cheese, but I think I would prefer it without it. I would rather add a dollop of sour cream at the table. Excellent recipe. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really good for a easy Green Chili but I felt the cream cheese took away some of the punch. I've made it a couple times, one of the times I added 1 cup of shredded chicken, more peppers and just a touch of the cream cheese----awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is the best version of green chili I have come across. It is amazingly flavorful, spicy but not too spicy. Just the right amount of heat, and pretty easy to make. I made substitutions with what i had on hand- used about 8 tomatillos, 2 lg. poblanos, and 6 jalapenos, no bell pepper and forgot the cream cheese. I also blended the roasted veggies then added to pork in slow cooker....Delicious. I think the beer really rounds out the flavors. Will make again and again! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AHHH-mazing! I live in Colorado and have had some darn good green chili, but WOW. I used approximately 20 fresh roasted green chillies and zero tomatillos. I took cupfuls of the chili and put it in the blender to get more of a uniform looking dish. I will be making this again, and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent green chili. I'm a CO native and this is in the top 5 green chili's that I have had in my life. I made it for my wedding shower which was a potluck style bbq in the fall. It was a HUGE hit. I would omit the cream cheese though, it's not necessary and I think it actually takes away from the authenticity. Maybe a dollop of sour cream is all it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This chili was very tasty (and I'm hard to please). In my oven, 30 minutes of roasting was way too long, however. Also, scaled as written, there's no way this makes 8 servings. More like 3-4 medium-sized servings or 2 large servings. It was also WAY too spicy, but that was my fault, not having cooked much with fresh peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Made this at the weekend along with some Jalapeno party poppers. Both were fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopCat247

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Nearly like my recipe. I never use tomotillos, I like to keep it all green chilis. I'd add 3 poblanos instead of the tomotillos. -- Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to mine. Serve in a bowl with fresh flour tortillas or use to smother your favorite TEX MEX recipes. For those of us in Colorado & New Mexico the green chiles are in, available freshly roasted & ready to bag, freeze & enjoy for the next 12 months. They should be around thru mid September or until the supply is exhausted. Or drive to the lanes east of Pueblo & buy them directly from the farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States